

School Immunization Quick-look Toolkit





Dear School Health Office staff,

The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) Bureau of Immunization Services (BIZS) is pleased to provide this toolkit for school use. Intended to be a quick and easy-to-use reference guide that can be used to help complete essential tasks. Within this kit, you will find:

- Obtaining children's immunization records
- How to enroll in our online registry, "Arizona State Immunization Information System" (ASIIS)
- Filling out and understanding forms associated with immunizations, such as:
 - Detailed information about requirements and scenarios
 - o <u>Screening and Referral Form</u>
 - o Referencing a child's record
 - Exemptions FAQs
- Tips on how to complete the annual Immunization Data Report (IDR)

For more detailed information, please refer to our <u>Arizona Immunization Handbook for Schools</u> and <u>Child Care Programs</u>, the <u>Vaccine Flowchart Resource</u>, and the <u>Arizona Guides to Immunizations Required for Entry</u>. You may also <u>visit the immunization program website</u> for more educational materials and school-related documentation.

Thank you,

ADHS Bureau of Immunization Services



Obtaining the Student's Immunization Record

- Ask the parent/guardian for the student's immunization record(s) at the time of enrollment. This record may
 come from the child's healthcare provider or may be a printed copy of the child's ASIIS record from the
 Bureau of Immunization Services.
- Check with the student's past school for immunization records (if needed).
- Enroll in <u>ASIIS</u>, the <u>Arizona State Immunization Information System</u>, so that you can look up the immunization records of your students. Select the View Only Access option.





Requirements

- Prior to school attendance, compare the student's immunization record to the <u>requirements</u> for his or her age. There are some immunizations required for all students in kindergarten through 12th grade, and two that are required once a student turns 11 years of age.
- If a student 12 years or older is missing the 11-year-old shots, he or she **MUST** receive them before attending school.
- Per Arizona law, students who are not up-to-date on their immunizations, are not in a catch-up status, or do not have a valid exemption form on file should be excluded from school attendance.
- Catch-Up status is specifically reserved for students who are behind on their exemptions and physically
 cannot get vaccinated due to minimum intervals between vaccines. This is not for cases where the
 student/parent/guardian is optionally delaying vaccinations.

ARIZONA GUIDE TO IMMUNIZATIONS REQUIRED FOR ENTRY Grades K-12 (School Year 2025-2026)



Last Reviewed: June 2025

- Requirements are shown below as stated in <u>Arizona Administrative Code</u>, R9-6-702, Table 7.1 and Table 7.2
- Please review the <u>Arizona Immunization Handbook for Schools and Child Care Programs</u> along with the <u>Vaccine Catch-Up Flowcharts & FAQs</u> for further information and details about immunization requirements and exemptions.
- Vaccines must follow ACIP minimum intervals and ages to be valid. See pages 3-4 of this document for minimum interval and catch-up schedule information.
- The 4-day grace period only applies to vaccine-administration minimum age and intervals. Refer to the Handbook for questions.

4-6 Years Old and attendance in Kindergarten or 1st grade	7-10 Years Old	11 Years and Older		
3 doses The final dose of HepB must be given at 24 weeks of age or older.				
4 doses The final dose of polio must be received at/after 4 years of age and at least six months after the previous dose. Only 3 doses are required if the 3 rd dose was received on/after the child's 4 th birthday and at least six months after the 2 nd dose. Additional doses may be needed to meet requirements. See pg. 2 for retrospective history guidance.				
2 doses Minimum recommended age for dose 1 is 12 months.				
1 dose Minimum recommended age for dose 1 is	12 months.			
5 doses of DTaP The final dose of tetanus-diphtheria-containing vaccine must be received at/after 4 years of age and at least six months after the previous dose. Only 4 doses are required if the 4th dose was received on/after 4 years of age.	4 doses of tetanus-diphtheria-containing vaccine (or combination of DTaP, Td, or Tdap doses). At least one dose at/after 4 years of age and at least 6 months from the previous dose. 3 doses (with one at/after 4 years) are acceptable if the first dose was given on/after 1 th birthday; otherwise, refer for an additional dose.	I dose of Tdap is required If the student does not have a Tdap but received a dose of tetanus-diphtheria-containing vaccine within the past 5 years, refer for the adolescent Tdap dose when 5 years have passed since that dose. If a student has received 1 valid dose of adolescent Tdap (age 10 years or older), no further doses are needed. Students must have a minimum series of 4 doses of tetanus-diphtheria-containing vaccine; 3 doses are acceptable if the 1 st dose was given on/after 1 st birthday.		
vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine w	1 dose of MenACWY or MenABCWY is required A dose administered at 10 years of age will meet the requirement.			
	Kindergarten or 1st grade 3 doses The final dose of HepB must be given at 24 4 doses The final dose of polio must be received at the 3st dose was received on/after the chil meet requirements. See pg. 2 for retrospee 2 doses Minimum recommended age for dose 1 is 1 dose Minimum recommended age for dose 1 is 5 doses of DTaP The final dose of tetanus-diphtheria-containing vaccine must be received at/after 4 years of age and at least six months after the previous dose. Only 4 doses are required if the 4sh dose was received on/after 4 years of age. Retrospectively: Menactra (Meningococca vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was discontinued in 2022 and was (Meningococcal Polysaccharide) vaccine was di	Kindergarten or 1st grade 3 doses The final dose of HepB must be given at 24 weeks of age or older. 4 doses The final dose of polio must be received at/after 4 years of age and at least six months the 3st dose was received on/after the child's 4st birthday and at least six months after meet requirements. See pg. 2 for retrospective history guidance. 2 doses Minimum recommended age for dose 1 is 12 months. 1 dose Minimum recommended age for dose 1 is 12 months. 5 doses of DTaP The final dose of tetanus-diphtheria-containing vaccine must be received at/after 4 years of age and at least six months after the previous dose. Only 4 doses are required if the 4st dose was received on/after 4 years of age. 3 doses (with one at/after 4 years) are acceptable if the first dose was given on/after 1st birthday; otherwise, refer for		

Select <u>English</u> or <u>Spanish</u> to access the *Arizona Guide to Immunizations Required for Entry: Grades K-12.* To see requirements for children in Preschool or Child Care, <u>click here</u>.

Page 1

azdhs.gov/immunize



Vaccines Required for School Entry (K-12)

THEY'RE AS EASY AS 5-4-3-2-1

5

DTaP - 5 DOSES

EXCEPTION - IF THE 4^{TH} DOSE IS GIVEN AFTER 4 YEARS OF AGE, THEY ARE COMPLETE.

*All students 11 years of age and older are required to have a Tdap booster and an additional dose of Tdap if booster dose is given before 11 years of age and/or 5 years have elapsed.

4

POLIO - 4 DOSES

4TH DOSE GIVEN AFTER THE 4TH BIRTHDAY.

*If the 3rd dose was given AFTER the 4th birthday, they are complete.

3

HEPATITIS B - 3 DOSES

3rd DOSE GIVEN AFTER 6 MONTHS OF AGE.

2

MMR - 2 DOSES

 1^{ST} DOSE MUST BE GIVEN AFTER 12 MONTHS OF AGE. 2^{ND} DOSE IS VALID IF GIVEN AT LEAST 4 WEEKS AFTER INITIAL DOSE.

HIB - 1 DOSE

AT LEAST 1 DOSE MUST BE GIVEN AFTER 15 MONTHS OF AGE.

VARICELLA - 1 DOSE

IF THE CHILD HAS HAD THE DISEASE, MEDICAL DOCUMENTATION OF DISEASE IS REQUIRED.

*Highly advised all children have 2 doses.

MenACWY - 1 DOSE

FOR ALL CHILDREN 11 YEARS OF AGE AND OLDER.

Page 5





Immunization Screening and Referral Form

- If the student is missing any vaccine doses, complete this form and give it to the student's parent or guardian.
- Click on the link to access the Immunization Screening and Referral Form: English and Spanish.

ARIZONA	١
HEALTH SERVICES	0

Immunization Screening and Referral Form For Kindergarten - 12th Grade



Our records show that your child has not received all immunizations required for school attendance by Arizona State Law (Arizona Revised Statutes 15-872). The immunization doses required now are

Indicated below:	
Student Name:	Date of Birth:
School Name:	Date of Notice:
School Contact Person:	Phone Number:
In accordance with Arizona State Law, students must have pro school. Lack of proper documentation may result in your child provided to your school health office. Your child's immunization be submitted:	d being excluded from school until such documentation is
By this Date: (15	days from notification date)
If your child has already received the necessary immunize	ration(s), send his or her immunization record to the

- school. The record must show the child's name, date of birth, the date that all doses were received, and the name of the physician or health agency who administered the vaccine.
- 2. If your child has not received the necessary immunizations, take your child's immunization record and this form to your physician, local health department, or other vaccine provider to get the required immunization(s) and/or records. Then, bring this form and the updated record back to school.

School Staff: Please Circle or Highlight the Missing Required Dose(s) for the Corresponding Required Vaccine(s).

School Required Vaccine	Dose Missing					
DTaP/DTP/DT (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis)	1	2	3	4	5*	6*
TD (Tetanus, Diphtheria)	1	2	3*	4*		
Tdap (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis)	1					
IPV (Polio)	1	2	3	4*		
MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella)	1	2	3*			
Hepatitis B	1	2	3	4*		
Varicella (Chickenpox)	1	2*				
Meningococcal (MCV4/quadrivalent)	1	2*				
CDC Recommended Vaccine**	Dose Missing					
Hepatitis A	1	2				
HPV (Human Papillomavirus)	1	2	3			
Seasonal Influenza (Flu)	1					

Bureau of Immunization Services azdhs.gov/immunize

Page 1

Indicates that another dose is highly recommended by the CDC but not required for school attendance.
 CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention through the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommends routine vaccinations to prevent vaccine-preventable diseases. While most vaccinations are required by the State of Arizona for school entry, there are other recommended immunizations your child may need.

Exceptions exist for these particular doses - see the <u>Arizona school immunizations requirements</u> for details and guidance.



Review Record and Refer for Missing Doses

EXAMPLE:

Five-year-old kindergarten student, Marie, is transferring to your school. According to her record, Marie is missing the required hepatitis B #3. On the Immunization Screening and Referral Form shown below, the necessary dose of hepatitis B vaccine has been circled, along with the recommended dose of hepatitis A.

• Give the form to Marie's parent/guardian, who must provide proof of hepatitis B #3 vaccination before school attendance.

Immunization Screening and Referral Form For Kindergarten - 12 th Grade Our records show that your child has not received all immunizations required for school attendance by Arizona State Law (Arizona Revised Statutes 15-872). The immunization doses required now are indicated below: Student Name: Date of Birth: School Name: Date of Notice: School Contact Person: Phone Number: In accordance with Arizona State Law, students must have proof of all required immunizations in order to attend school. Lack of proper documentation may result in your child being excluded from school until such documentatio provided to your school health office. Your child's immunization record with the below missing immunization(s) mube submitted: By this Date: (15 days from notification date)	ttena	ance.			
by Arizona State Law (Arizona Revised Statutes 15-872). The immunization doses required now are indicated below: Student Name:		PARTMENT OF			STATE OF PAGE
School Name: Date of Notice: School Contact Person: Phone Number: In accordance with Arizona State Law, students must have proof of all required immunizations in order to attend school. Lack of proper documentation may result in your child being excluded from school until such documentatio provided to your school health office. Your child's immunization record with the below missing immunization(s) mube submitted:	by Ariz	zona State Law (<u>Arizona</u>			O TOUCHTO
School Contact Person: Phone Number: In accordance with Arizona State Law, students must have proof of all required immunizations in order to attend school. Lack of proper documentation may result in your child being excluded from school until such documentatio provided to your school health office. Your child's immunization record with the below missing immunization(s) mube submitted:	Studer	nt Name:		Date of Birth:	
In accordance with Arizona State Law, students must have proof of all required immunizations in order to attend school. Lack of proper documentation may result in your child being excluded from school until such documentatio provided to your school health office. Your child's immunization record with the below missing immunization(s) mube submitted:	School	l Name:		Date of Notice:	
school. Lack of proper documentation may result in your child being excluded from school until such documentatio provided to your school health office. Your child's immunization record with the below missing immunization(s) mu be submitted:	School	Contact Person:		Phone Number:	
By this Date: (15 days from notification date)	school provid	. Lack of proper docum ed to your school healt	entation may resu	Ilt in your child being excluded from school until such o	documentation is
		By t	his Date:	(15 days from notification date)	
 If your child has already received the necessary immunization(s), send his or her immunization record to the school. The record must show the child's name, date of birth, the date that all doses were received, and the name of the physician or health agency who administered the vaccine. If your child has not received the necessary immunizations, take your child's immunization record and this formulation. 	so na	chool. The record must ame of the physician or	show the child's n health agency wh	name, date of birth, the date that all doses were received to administered the vaccine.	ed, and the

School Staff: Please Circle or Highlight the Missing Required Dose(s) for the Corresponding Required Vaccine(s).

records. Then, bring this form and the updated record back to school.

to your physician, local health department, or other vaccine provider to get the required immunization(s) and/or

School Required Vaccine	Dose Missing					
DTaP/DTP/DT (Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis)	1	2	3	4	5*	6*
TD (Tetanus, Diphtheria)	1	2	3×	4*		
Tdap (Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis)	1					
IPV (Polio)	1	2	3	4*		
MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella)	1	2	3*			
Hepatitis B	1	2	3	4*		
Varicella (Chickenpox)	1	2*)			
Meningococcal (MCV4/quadrivalent)	1	2*				
CDC Recommended Vaccine**	Dose Missing					
Hepatitis A	1	2				
HPV (Human Papillomavirus)	1	2	3			
Seasonal Influenza (Flu)	1					

Indicates that another dose is highly recommended by the CDC but not required for school attendance.
 ** CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention through the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) recommends routine vaccinations to prevent vaccine-preventable diseases. While most vaccinations are required by the State of Arizona for school entry, there are other recommended immunizations your child may need.
 *Exceptions exist for these particular doses - see the <u>Arizona school immunizations requirements</u> for details and guidance.

Bureau of Immunization Services

azdhs.gov/immunize

Page 1



Exemptions FAQs

What if the parent/guardian requests to sign an exemption form instead of bringing in the child's immunization record?

- ADHS strongly encourages schools and child care providers to promote immunization whenever possible.
- Tell the parent/guardian about the types of exemptions available for K-12 students as needed:
 - <u>Personal beliefs exemptions</u> are available for children of parents/guardians who philosophically are opposed to immunization.
 - Medical exemptions are available for children whose physician or nurse practitioner determines that there are medical reasons why the child should not be vaccinated.
- The most current version found on the ADHS webpage of the ADHS Personal Beliefs Exemption Form is the
 ONLY acceptable exemption form for parents/guardians of K-12 children who state that vaccination is
 against their personal beliefs.
- Parents/guardians may **NOT** create their own exemption form or alter the ADHS exemption form in any way. After the parent/guardian has completed all areas of the form, make a copy and give it to them.
- Some K-12 schools are participating in the Immunization Education Course.
 - The exemption form generated from this course looks slightly different.
 - Visit the <u>Immunization Education Course web page</u> for more information.
- If a parent/guardian states there is a medical reason why their child cannot be vaccinated, provide the most current version of the ADHS Medical Exemption Form to them.
- All <u>Medical Exemption Forms</u> MUST be signed and completed by the healthcare provider (physician or nurse practitioner) before being accepted.
- For medical exemptions due to a history of disease, lab serology must be attached to the exemption form
 for measles, rubella, and varicella. For all other disease histories, a physician/nurse practitioner's
 statement of disease history or lab serology is acceptable.

NOTE: The ADHS Religious Beliefs Exemption Form is **ONLY** valid for child care and preschool students.



Completing the Immunization Data Report (IDR)

- Schools must complete <u>Immunization Data Reports</u> (IDRs) each year on students enrolled in <u>kindergarten</u>, <u>sixth grade</u>, and <u>preschool/Head Start</u> no later than **November 15**th.
 - This requirement applies to **ALL Arizona schools**, including private, public, and charter schools.
- The IDR includes separate surveys for kindergarten and sixth grade.
 - Before beginning the survey, gather all immunization records and exemption forms for the grade level.
 - Data will be submitted in aggregate format.
 - No student names or personally identifiable information will be requested.
- The kindergarten survey includes questions about:
 - The number of students who meet the requirements with proof of 4+ DTap, 3-4 Polio, 2 MMR, 3
 Hepatitis B, and 1-2 Varicella vaccine doses.
 - How many students are exempt from immunization, including the type(s) of exemption on file.
- The sixth-grade survey includes questions about:
 - The number of students who have proof of 1 Tdap (or recent Tetanus-Diphtheria-containing vaccine), 1
 Meningococcal ACWY, 3-4 polio, 2 MMR, 3 Hepatitis B (or 2 dose series), and 1-2 Varicella vaccine doses.
 - How many students are exempt from immunization, including the type(s) of exemption on file.
 - How many students under 11 years of age are missing Tdap and meningococcal ACWY vaccines given they are not required until age 11. How many students are missing Tdap if it has been less than 5 years since the student's last dose of a tetanus-diphtheria-containing vaccine.
 - NOTE: Only the quadrivalent vaccine (ACWY) is acceptable for the meningococcal requirement.

NOTE: Additional information about the child care/preschool IDR can be found in the Child Care Immunization Toolkit.