# How Do I Report?



The acceptable methods for public health reporting of cases or laboratory results in Arizona depend on the **type of facility** and the **disease or organism** being reported.

This document refers to the reporting of each test result or each patient (for example, reporting that requires submission of the name and date of birth of each person). It does *not* cover aggregate or summary reporting (for example, reports of how many patients have COVID-19 or number of beds filled by COVID-19 patients).

For reporting of conditions/organisms other than COVID-19, influenza, RSV and coccidioidomycosis, see http://azdhs.gov/reporting.

#### Resources for the reporting methods listed in the tables below:

- MEDSIS case entry
  - MEDSIS batch case creation guidance is available to MEDSIS users from the Resources section of the MEDSIS application.
- Electronic Laboratory Reporting (ELR) / HL7 for <u>COVID-19</u> or <u>other conditions</u>
- Flat file (available only for COVID-19, influenza, RSV)
- <u>Web entry for point-of-care tests</u> (available only for COVID-19, influenza, RSV)
- National Healthcare Surveillance Network (NHSN) (available only for skilled nursing facilities, for COVID-19)
- <u>SimpleReport</u> through CDC and the United States Digital Service (available only for rapid point-of-care testing for COVID-19)
- Fax (to report test results, send to ADHS at 602-364-3199)
- Secure email (to report *test* results, send to ADHS using <u>idreporting@azdhs.gov</u>). Ensure the email is secure or encrypted if sending patient information!. Secure email to local health departments may or may not be available for reporting *patients diagnosed or treated*.

#### References for reporting rules listed in tables on next pages:

- Arizona Administrative Code, Title 9, Chapter 6, Article 2 (A.A.C. R9-6-202 and R9-6-204).
- ADHS Communicable Disease Reporting home page: <u>http://azdhs.gov/reporting</u>

### COVID-19

- Any facility conducting testing, including use of point-of-care tests, is required to report test results within 24 hours of test completion, pursuant to <u>Arizona Administrative Code R9-6-204</u> and the federal <u>COVID-19 Pandemic Response, Laboratory</u> <u>Data Reporting: CARES Act Section 18115.</u> See <u>COVID-19 Laboratory Resources</u>.
- Hospitals and other healthcare providers are required to report patients they diagnose, treat, or detect within 24 hours, per A.A.C. R9-6-202.
- Hospital or healthcare facilities performing testing must fulfill reporting requirements for *both* hospital/healthcare facilities and for laboratories, including submission of all required patient info.

Who (Facility type) Facilities that conduct testing <i>and</i> diagnose or treat patients must meet the requirements for both facility types.	How (Acceptable methods)	What	Why (Legal requirements)
<ul> <li>Any facility conducting COVID-19 testing, including point-of-care tests, including: <ul> <li>Clinical laboratory</li> <li>Hospital laboratory</li> <li>Non-hospital-based laboratory</li> <li>Urgent care, long-term care, correctional facilities, schools, or any other facility conducting COVID-19 testing.</li> <li>In or out of AZ</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	<ul> <li>ELR/HL7</li> <li>Flat file</li> <li>Web entry for point of care tests</li> <li>NHSN (skilled nursing facilities only)</li> <li>SimpleReport App (rapid point-of-care testing only)</li> </ul>	Facilities that are conducting testing under a <b>CLIA certificate of</b> <b>waiver</b> are required to only report POSITIVE COVID-19 test results at this time. Facilities that are <b>CLIA-certified to</b> <b>perform moderate- or</b> <b>high-complexity</b> <b>testing</b> must report ALL test results (i.e., positive, negative,	A.A.C. R9-6-204 CARES Act Section 18115

	inconclusive) from COVID-19 NAAT testing (e.g., RT-PCR), and only POSITIVE results from other tests.	
(table continues on next page)		

## COVID-19, continued

Who (Facility type) Facilities that conduct testing <i>and</i> diagnose or treat patients must meet the requirements for both facility types.	How (Acceptable methods)	What	Why (Legal requirements)
<ul> <li>Hospital or other healthcare provider (e.g., urgent care, provider office), including:</li> <li>Healthcare provider that prescribes or proctors at-home testing (e.g., testing conducted entirely outside of a laboratory or healthcare setting)</li> <li>Healthcare provider diagnosing COVID-19 based on self-reported results of over-the-counter tests</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>MEDSIS case entry</li> <li>MEDSIS batch case creation</li> <li>Fax to local health department</li> <li>Secure email to local health department (if available)</li> </ul>	COVID-19 patients diagnosed or treated	A.A.C. R9-6-202

### Influenza or RSV

- Any facility conducting testing, including use of point-of-care tests, is required to report **positive** tests within 5 days, per A.A.C. R9-6-204.
- Hospitals and healthcare providers are required to report a diagnosed or suspected influenza-associated mortality in a child (<18 years old) within one day, per A.A.C. R9-6-202.
- Hospitals and healthcare providers are not required to report patients they diagnose, treat or detect (other than influenza-associated mortality in a child). However, if the facility is conducting influenza or RSV testing, the hospital or healthcare facility must have a mechanism for reporting the positive results according to one of the methods listed below.

Who (Facility type)	How (Acceptable methods)	What	Why (Arizona rules)
<ul> <li>Any facility conducting flu or RSV testing, including point-of-care tests, including:</li> <li>Clinical laboratory</li> <li>Hospital laboratory</li> <li>Non-hospital-based laboratory</li> <li>Urgent care, long-term care, correctional facilities, schools, or any other facility conducting flu or RSV testing</li> <li>In or out of AZ</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>ELR/HL7</li> <li>Flat file</li> <li>Web entry for point of care tests (coming soon)</li> <li>MEDSIS case entry</li> <li>MEDSIS batch case creation</li> <li>Secure email to ADHS</li> <li>Fax to ADHS</li> </ul>	Positive results	A.A.C. R9-6-204
Hospital or healthcare provider that is <i>NOT</i> conducting flu or RSV testing	Not applicable	No reporting required	
Hospital/healthcare provider diagnosing an influenza-associated mortality in a child (<18 years old)	<ul> <li>MEDSIS case entry</li> <li>Phone call, fax or email to local health department</li> </ul>	Diagnosed or suspected influenza-associated mortality in a child	A.A.C. R9-6-202

### Coccidioidomycosis (Valley Fever)

- Any facility conducting testing, including use of point-of-care tests, is required to report **positive** tests within 5 days, per A.A.C. R9-6-204.
- Hospitals and healthcare providers are required to report patients they diagnose, treat, or detect within 5 days, per A.A.C. R9-6-202.
- Hospital or healthcare facilities performing testing must fulfill reporting requirements for *both* hospital/healthcare facilities and for laboratories, including submission of all required patient info.

Who (Facility type) Facilities that conduct testing <i>and</i> diagnose or treat patients must meet the requirements for both facility types.	How (Acceptable methods)	What	Why (Arizona rules)
<ul> <li>Any facility conducting Coccidioides</li> <li>testing, including point-of-care tests, including: <ul> <li>Clinical laboratory</li> <li>Hospital laboratory</li> <li>Non-hospital-based laboratory</li> <li>In or out of AZ</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	<ul> <li>ELR/HL7</li> <li>MEDSIS case entry</li> <li>MEDSIS batch case creation</li> <li>Secure email to ADHS</li> <li>Fax to ADHS</li> </ul>	Positive results	A.A.C. R9-6-204
Hospital or other healthcare provider (whether or not the facility is conducting <i>Coccidioides</i> testing)	<ul> <li>MEDSIS case entry</li> <li>MEDSIS batch case creation</li> <li>Secure email to local health department</li> <li>Fax to local health department</li> </ul>	Coccidioidomycosis patients diagnosed, detected or treated	A.A.C. R9-6-202