## Midwifery Scope of Practice by State: VBAC, Multiple Births, Breech Births in Non-Hospital Settings

State	VBAC Allowed?	Multiples Allowed?	Breech Allowed?
Alaska – Statutes: AS 01.65-010 through 01.65.190. Rules: AAC 14.	No. AS 08.65.140(d)(15)	No. AS 08.65.140(d)(6)	No. AS 08.65.140(d)(9)
Comprehensive document here.			
Arizona – Statutes:   A.R.S. §§ 36-751   through 36-760.   Rules: 9 A.A.C. 16,   Article 1.	No. A.A.C. R9-16- 108(A)(1)	No. A.A.C. R9-16- 108(A)(14)	Yes, but after 36 weeks must obtain a medical consultation which may recommend treatment, referral, or transfer. A.A.C. R9-16-109(A)(18)
Arkansas – Rules: Ark. Admin. Code 07.13.4-400 et seq.	No. § 406.1	No. § 406.1	No. § 406.1
California – Requires supervision of a licensed physician, supervision does not require physical presence. Statutes: Business and Professions Code Business §§ 2505- 2521 <u>here</u> <u>Standards</u> of Care here.	Yes. Code §2516(a)(3)(K)	Yes. Code §2516(a)(3)(K)	Yes. Code §2516(a)(3)(K)
Colorado – Statutes: C.R.S. §§ 12-37-101 through 12-37-110. Rules: 4 CCR 739-1. Midwifery statutes <u>here</u> Midwifery rules <u>here</u>	Yes, if consent, transfer, and documentation protocols followed, if no c-section within 18 months, for prior multiple c-sections a subsequent vaginal delivery has already occurred, and no prior classical or vertical incision. 4 CCR 739-1 Rule 4(A)(11) and Rule 12	No. 4 CCR 739-1 Rule (5)(F)	No. 4 CCR 739-1 Rule 4(B)(3) (May not perform versions); Rule 5(F)(requires referral if discovered)

Delaware – Collaborative agreement with licensed physician with obstetrical hospital privileges required, which may provide for any or all of the three instances. Statutes: 16 Delaware Code, Chapter 1, §§ 122(3)(h) <u>here</u> and 163 <u>here</u> Rules: <u>16</u> <u>Delaware</u> <u>Administrative Code</u> <u>4106</u> .	By protocols in physician's agreement and contract with patient outlining scope of practice, potential risks/complications. 16 Delaware Administrative Code 4106, Regulations 4.3 and 4.4.	By protocols in physician's agreement and contract with patient outlining scope of practice, potential risks/complications. 16 Delaware Administrative Code 4106, Regulations 4.3 and 4.4.	By protocols in physician's agreement and contract with patient outlining scope of practice, potential risks/complications. 16 Delaware Administrative Code 4106, Regulations 4.3 and 4.4.
Florida – Based on risk factor scoring, midwife must consult with physician and if physician and midwife agree that client is expected to have normal pregnancy, labor, and delivery, may proceed. Florida Statutes: <u>Title XXXII</u> §§ 467.001 through 467.207 . Rules for risk protocols: F.A.C. 64B24-7.004, Risk Assessment <u>here</u> . (Click on View Rule.)	Yes, if risk factor protocol met. Prior c-section followed by previous vaginal delivery reduces risk factor below threshold for required consultation. F.A.C. 64B24-7.004.	Not addressed in risk factor criteria	Not addressed in risk factor criteria
Idaho – Statutes (licensing) <u>here</u> . Rules: I.A.C. 24.26.01.356 <u>here</u> . Scroll down to 356 Scope and Practice Standards.	Yes, if no more than one previous c-section, not within 18 months of current delivery, and not closed with classical or vertical incision. ID statute: 54-5505(e)(ii)(5) I.A.C. 24.26.01.356(02)(b)(i).	No. ID statute: 54- 5505(e)(ii)(2) I.A.C. 24.26.01.356(02)(a)	No. ID statute: 54- 5505(e)(ii)(3) I.A.C. 24.26.01.356(02)(a).

Louisiana – Statutes	No, unless approved by	53 Stat. C § 5361(B)(11).	53 Stat. C § 5361(B)(14).
here. Limitations on	Board on a case-by-case		
"unapproved	basis after physician		
practice" appear in	agreement that no		
statute.	"untoward		
	medical/obstetrical risk"		
	is present. 53 Stat. C §		
	5361(B)(1).		
Maine – State	Unregulated	Unregulated	Unregulated
doesn't license but			
allows practice by lay			
midwives certified by			
NARM. State does			
not consider			
childbirth a medical			
condition. Guild			
guidance on practice			
in Maine.			
Missouri – State	Unregulated	Unregulated	Unregulated
allows practice by	omegulated	omegalated	omegulated
any licensed CNM,			
CM, or CPM, who			
must be certified by			
NARM or ACNM.			
Revised Statutes			
Missouri Section			
376.1753 <u>here</u>			
Missouri Supreme			
Court dismissed			
challenge to statute			
here			
Montana – "Direct	Yes – with protocols	No. MCA 37-27-104;	No. MCA 37-27-104;
Entry" midwives,	including offer of transfer,	R24.111.610(1)(b)(vi)	R24.111.610(1)(b)(v)
licensed by	documentation, informed		
Alternative Health	consent, consultation.		
Care Board, which	R24.111.612. Rules also		
also licenses	state that VBAC is only by		
naturopaths.	a midwife skilled in VBAC		
Statutes: Montana	support; and midwife		
Code Annotated Title	must consult if history of		
37, Chapter 27.	previous cesarean birth		
Rules: 24.111.602	R24.111.611(1)(a)(xxx)		
Administrative Rules			
of Montana			
24.111.601 et seq.			
here			
		1	1

Now Homeshine	Voc if only one providers	No. and must transfer :f	No. and must transfer if
New Hampshire –	Yes, if only one previous	No, and must transfer if	No, and must transfer if
Statutes and rules	c-section, low transverse	discovered. Mid	discovered. Mid
both included here,	incision, no other uterine	502.10(a)(2) and	502.10(a)(3).
Title XXX, Chapter	surgeries, 18 months ago	502.09(r)	
<u>326-D Midwifery</u> .	or more, ultrasound		
Additional	verifies placenta is not in		
Organizational Rules,	a low-lying anterior		
Chapter Mid-100,	position, birth site within		
apply. (Scroll down	20 minutes of a hospital		
to organizational	by road, and document		
rules.)	protocols followed. Mid		
N. La sur	503.02(a) thru (g).		
New Jersey –	Yes, but risk protocol	Yes, but risk protocol	Yes, but risk protocol
Regulations contain	requires physician	requires physician	requires physician
risk factor protocol	involvement and birth	involvement and birth	involvement and birth
system that requires	must occur in a hospital.	must occur in a hospital.	must occur in a hospital.
an "affiliated	Rules 13:35-2A.9(b)(2)(v)	Rules 13:35-	Rules 13:35-2A.11(a)(8).
physician" to	and 2A.11(a)(4).	2A.9(b)(3)(iv) and	
preapprove the		2A.11(a)(7).	
midwife to continue			
with care when risk			
factors are present.			
Statutes <u>here</u> ; rules			
<u>here</u> .			<u>, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , </u>
New Mexico –	Yes, with protocols	Yes, but primary care	Yes but primary care
Statutes (licensing)	including only one	must be managed by a	must be by physician or
<u>here</u> ; NMDH	previous c-section, no	physician or nurse-	nurse-midwife until 36
licensed midwifery	prior c-section within 18	midwife and must	weeks, then must
rules <u>here</u> . Rules	months, prior c-section	transfer if variances	transfer. Practice
delegate practice	must have transverse	occur. Practice	Guidelines, pp 88 and
particulars to New Mexico Midwives	incision, ultrasound for	Guidelines, pp 88 and	120.
	placenta location, birth	119.	
Association	site within 30 minutes by		
Standards of Core Competencies of	road of a hospital. Practice Guidelines, pp93-		
Practice and Policies	97. (and pg 88 primary		
and Procedures.	care must be by physician		
and Frocedures.	or nurse-midwife.)		
Oregon – "Non-	Yes, if 2 or fewer previous	Yes if, 2 or fewer	Yes, if "frank and
_			
absolute risk"			
absolute risk" protocol applies to	ceasarians or 3 previous	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or	complete breech
absolute risk" protocol applies to each of these cases	ceasarians or 3 previous ceasarians followed by	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or	complete breech presentation" and no
protocol applies to each of these cases	ceasarians or 3 previous ceasarians followed by previous successful	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or monoamniotic, no twin-	complete breech presentation" and no other aspects of non-
protocol applies to each of these cases and a midwife must	ceasarians or 3 previous ceasarians followed by previous successful vaginal birth. R 332-025-	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or	complete breech presentation" and no other aspects of non- cephalic presentation.
protocol applies to each of these cases and a midwife must prepare for a	ceasarians or 3 previous ceasarians followed by previous successful vaginal birth. R 332-025- 0021 (2)(a)(Y), (BB), (CC);	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or monoamniotic, no twin- to-twin transfusion, and neither twin is	complete breech presentation" and no other aspects of non- cephalic presentation. R 332-025-0021
protocol applies to each of these cases and a midwife must prepare for a possible transfer	ceasarians or 3 previous ceasarians followed by previous successful vaginal birth. R 332-025-	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or monoamniotic, no twin- to-twin transfusion, and neither twin is presenting transverse.	complete breech presentation" and no other aspects of non- cephalic presentation.
protocol applies to each of these cases and a midwife must prepare for a possible transfer scenario and have a	ceasarians or 3 previous ceasarians followed by previous successful vaginal birth. R 332-025- 0021 (2)(a)(Y), (BB), (CC);	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or monoamniotic, no twin- to-twin transfusion, and neither twin is presenting transverse. R 332-025-0021	complete breech presentation" and no other aspects of non- cephalic presentation. R 332-025-0021
protocol applies to each of these cases and a midwife must prepare for a possible transfer	ceasarians or 3 previous ceasarians followed by previous successful vaginal birth. R 332-025- 0021 (2)(a)(Y), (BB), (CC);	gestations, twins are not monochorionic or monoamniotic, no twin- to-twin transfusion, and neither twin is presenting transverse.	complete breech presentation" and no other aspects of non- cephalic presentation. R 332-025-0021

South Carolina – <u>Regulation # 61-24</u> : Standards for Practicing Midwives. Also, <u>letter from SC</u> <u>Health Dept</u> <u>prohibiting VBAC by</u> <u>midwives</u> .	No. (Letter)	Yes, consultation and referral required. R# 61-24(L)(24), (N)(1)(e). Multiple births expressly declared life- threatening complications that require emergency measures by midwife "in absence of medical help."	Yes, consultation and referral required. R# 61-24(L)(25), (N)(1)(e).
Tennessee – Statutes: Title 63 Tenn. Code Ann. Chapter 29, <u>Midwifery Practice</u> <u>Act</u> ; A certified profession midwife must have collaborative plan with a physician for all clients. T.C.A. 63- 29-115(a) Rules of the Bd. of Osteopathic Examinations, Council of Certified Professional Midwifery, Division of Health Related Boards Chapter 1050-5: <u>here</u> . Rules delegate scope of practice to " <u>Practice</u> <u>Guidelines</u> " issued by Tennessee Midwives Association.	Yes, with consultation and referral and/or transfer required if previous c- section with classical incision, within one year of current EDD, or three or more previous c- sections. TMA Guidelines IX (A)(13) through (15).	Yes, with consultation and referral required. TMA Guidelines IX (B)(3).	Yes, but consultation and referral required and must transfer if the physician says so. TMA Guidelines IX (B)(2) and (C)(7). This subsection states that a transverse lie may require emergency interventions pending physician consultation.

Texas – Referral,	Yes, with referral	Yes, with referral	No, transfer mandatory.
when required, gives	required, except that	required. Rules Subch.	Rules Subch. D § 831.65
patient the final say	transfer is mandatory for	D § 831.60(b)(10).	(e)(12).
on whether to	prior classical or vertical		(-/(/-
transfer to care of a	incision or prior uterine		
licensed physician,	surgery with incision in		
and is documented.	uterine fundus. Rules		
Statutes here do not	Subch. D. § 831.60(b)(9),		
cover scope of	(c)(8). Rules Subch. D. §		
practice. Texas	831.60(d) states that in		
Midwifery Board	lieu of referral or transfer,		
Rules, Subchapter D	a midwife may manage		
covers scope of	the client in collaboration		
practice.	with an appropriate		
	health care professional.		
Utah – "Direct-Entry	Yes, with conditions.	No, transfer is	Yes, with consultation
Midwife Act" Central	Consultation optional if	mandatory once	mandatory if "after 36.0
landing page for all	prior c-section. Transfer	multiple gestations	weeks gestation".
statutes and rules.	unless waived by patient	confirmed. DEMA Rules	DEMA § 58-77-601
DEMA § 58-77-	with informed consent for	state: R156-77-	(2)(a)(i)(D). DEMA Rules
601(2)(b) midwife	prior c-section with	601(1)(a)(viii);	state: R156-77-
must recommend	unknown uterine incision	consultation must be	601(2)(c) consultation
and facilitate	type not discovered by	recommended if	mandatory after 36.0
consultation,	"reasonable effort."	multiple gestation is	weeks;R156-77-
referral, transfer, or	Transfer is mandatory if	suspected; R156-77-	601(6)(b)(ii) and (iii)
mandatory transfer	more than two prior c-	601(6)(a)(ix) transfer	transfer mandatory
to care of licensed	sections or any prior c-	mandatory for	intrapartum.
health care	section meeting specified	confirmed multiple	
professional in	conditions. DEMA § 58-	gestation; R156-77-	
accordance with	77-601(2)(a); DEMA Rule	601(6)((b)(viii) transfer	
rules.	R156-77-601(1)(a)(xi),	mandatory intrapartum	
	(5)(a)(v); (6)(a)(xi) through	for undiagnosed	
	(xv); (6)(b)(x).	multiple gestation	
		unless delivery is	
		imminent.	

Voue out	Vac with 10 protocolar (1)	No. ADM 2 14 1 and	Vac if botween 25 and
Vermont – Laws only	Yes, with 10 protocols: (1)	No. ARM 3.14.1 and	Yes, if between 35 and
address CPMs and	Consultation with a	3.14.3.	38 weeks gestation with
not lay midwives.	licensed physician		mandatory consultation
Lay midwives must	verifying certain history;		with a licensed M.D. or
meet the North	(2) 18 months from		D.O. 3.14.2(19).
Amer. Registry of	previous CS; (3)		
Midwives (NARM)	ultrasound locating		No, if at or after 38
requirements for	placenta; (4) Informed		weeks. ARM
certified professional	consent; (5) Ausculation		3.14.2(15).
midwife (CPM) status	every 15 mins during		
as well as that	labor; (6) Birth site within		
Vermont licensing	30 minutes transport time		
requirements.	to an ER; (7) Two licensed		
Administrative Rules	midwives must be there;		
for Midwives.	(8) No labor induction or		
Midwives Act, 26	augmentation; (9) and		
<u>V.S.A. §§ 4181-4191</u>	(10) documentation		
	required. ARM 3.14.2.1.		
Washington –	Yes. RCW 18.50.010;	Yes. RCW 18.50.010;	Yes. RCW 18.50.010;
Licensure required	18.50.108 (must annually	18.50.108. Per the	18.50.108. Per the
and consultation	submit written plan for	MAWS document at p.	MAWS document at 5
with physician	consultation with health	5, multiple gestation is	and 6, transverse lie,
required if there are	care providers,	an indication for	oblique lie, or breech
any "significant	emergency transfer, and	transfer of care to a	presentation are
deviations from	transport of woman and	physician or other	indications for transfer.
normal" in the	infant). Per the MAWS	hospital-based provider.	Per the MAWS
course of birth.	document at p.4, prior		transport guideline at p.
Statutes: <u>RCW 18.50</u> .	cesarean birth is an		6, malpresentation is an
Rules: WAC 246-834.	indication for consultation		indication for
(Rules are licensure-	with a physician.		intrapartum transfer.
oriented and do not			
address scope of			
practice.) See			
Midwives Assn of			
Washington State			
(MAWS) document			
on discussion,			
consultation, and			
transfer <u>here</u> . See			
MAWS transport			
guideline here			
Buildenne <u>nere</u>			<u> </u>

		<b>M M</b>	
Wisconsin – Must	Yes, if midwife has	Yes, with consultation.	Yes, with consultation.
consult with a	protocol to disclose risks	SPS 182.03(4)(b)(1)(v).	SPS 182.03(4)(b)(1)(i)
physician or CNM	associated with VBAC (SPS		and (u) and
before proceeding	182.02(1)(d)); and, in		182.03(4)(b)(2)(g)
with a non-hospital	consultation with		
birth in these	physician or CNM, if no		Physician notification
instances. Rules: WI	previous c-section with		and emergency
Admin. Code Ch. RL	vertical incision and no		transport to hospital is
182, Standards of	current low-lying placenta		required intrapartum.
Practice. Unable to	if there was any previous		SPS 1882.03((5)(a)(13)
open message for	c-section (SPS		
this link. The	182.03(4)(b)(1)(r) and (t)		
licensed midwives			
rules were renumber			
to Chs. SPS <u>180</u> , <u>181</u> ,			
182, and 183. WI			
Laws Chapter 440,			
Subchapter 13,			
Licensed Midwives,			
440.9805 to 440.988			
here			
Wyoming – Statute:	Yes, unless more than 1	No. 33-46-103(j)(A)(II);	No, "unless birth is
<u>W.S. 33-46-103</u>	prior c-section and no	W.R. 7 § 2(b)(i)(B).	imminent". 33-46-
Board of Midwifery.	prior vaginal delivery, or a		103(j)(A)(III); W.R. 7 §§
Rules: Wyoming	prior c-section within 18		2(b)(i)(C) and 2(e)(iii).
Regulations Chapter	months, or a prior c-		
7, Professional	section closed with		
Responsibility.	vertical incision. Also,		
<u>Responsionicy</u> .	before providing care, the		
	licensed midwife must		
	recommend patient be		
	examined by physician.		
	33-46-103(j)(A)(V); 33-46-		
	103(j)(C)(II); W.R. 7 §§		
	2(b)(ii)(A) and 2(d)(ii).		