

Bureau of Child Care Licensing

ARE YOU READY FOR YOUR INITIAL INSPECTION?

Child Care Center Initial Inspection New Facility Readiness Checklist Guide

Readiness Self Checklist Welcome To The Presentation

If you are reviewing this presentation, you should be the individual responsible for <u>setting up the facility for the initial inspection</u>.

You may be the facility:

- Director
- Owner
- Staff
- Licensee representative

Readiness Self Checklist

For this presentation, you will need a copy of the following items:

New Facility Readiness Self Checklist

http://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/childcarefacilities/providers/forms/new_facility_readiness_checklist.pdf

Arizona Administrative Code, and Arizona Revised Statutes for Child Care Facilities

http://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/childcare-facilities/rules/bccl-childcare-facility-rules.pdf

• The *Rules Instrument* used for the initial inspection will reference these rules

1. Have you hired a qualified facility director?

R9-5-401.1 Staff Qualifications: Facility Director

To qualify as a facility director, the individual must be at least 21 years of age and meet one of the qualification options listed in R9-5-401.1. (a-d).

The director is responsible for running the daily onsite operations of the facility.

2. Have you created your facility's Statement of Services?

All items listed must be addressed in the Statement of Services – even if not offered

R9-5-302.A. Statement of Services #1 – #8.

(sometimes known as a Parent Handbook)

- **1**. Description of facility's child care services
- 2. Hours of operation
- 3. Facility's street address, city, state, zip code, mailing address & phone number
- 4. Child enrollment and disenrollment procedures
- 5. Charges, fees
- 6. Child admission and release requirements
- **7**. Discipline guidelines and methods
- 8. Transportation procedures, if applicable

2. Have you created your facility's Statement of Services?

All items listed must be addressed in the Statement of Services – even if not offered

R9-5-302.A. Statement of Services #9 – #18.

- 9. Field Trip procedures, if applicable
- **10.** Parent responsibilities
- 11. General description of activities & programs
- **12.** Liability insurance
- **13**. Medication procedures, if applicable
- 14. Accident & Emergency procedures
- 15. Inspection reports are available on-site
- 16. Facility is regulated by the Department, with the Department's address and phone number
 - 17. Pesticide application procedures
 - 18. Parental access during hours of operation

3. Do you have Liability Insurance?

R9-5-308.A.

General facility liability insurance

Minimum of \$300,000 per incident

Provide a copy of the

Certificate to the

Department and keep one

at your facility for review

| e | | | | | | 100 | 00-011-04 | 3-20-13 | | | | | |
|--|--|-----------------------------|-----------|--|---------------------------|---|---------------------------|--|---------|---------------|--|--|--|
| 40 | ORD | CERT | TIEL | CATE OF LIA | BILIT | Y IN | SURA | NCE | | (MINDD/1111) | | | |
| 5 | | | | R OF INFORMATION ONLY | | | | | | 5/2013 | | | |
| c | RTIFICATE DOES N | OT AFFIRMAT | VELY | OR NEGATIVELY AMEND. | EXTEND 0 | DR ALTI | ER THE CO | VERAGE AFFORDED | BY TH | E POLICIES | | | |
| | | | | E DOES NOT CONSTITUT CERTIFICATE HOLDER. | TE A CONT | FRACT I | BETWEEN T | HE ISSUING INSUREF | (S), A | UTHORIZED | | | |
| 15 | PORTANT: If the cert | Sficate holder | is an A | DDITIONAL INSURED, the | policy(les) | must be | endorsed. | If SUBROGATION IS V | AIVED | , subject to | | | |
| th | e terms and condition rtificate holder in lleu | s of the policy | , certair | policies may require an e | | | | is certificate does not | confer | rights to the | | | |
| | SUCER | of such and of | seman | (6). | NAME: S | anuel | Goulet | | ~~~ | | | | |
| The Goulet Group, LLC | | | | | | PHONE (480) 809-2864 PAX (480) 237-5445 | | | | | | | |
| | 69 North Scott | sdale Roa | ıd | | ADDRESS: C | | | | | | | | |
| | ite 103-207 ottsdale | AZ 85 | 254-1 | 1290 | | | | DING COVERAGE | - | NAIC # | | | |
| NIU | | | | 74 U V | INSURER A 3 | Nati | onal L: | ability and | Fir | 10472 e | | | |
| 10 | | to a descent to | 5197 | State of the local division of the local div | INSURER C : | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | INSLIGER 0 : | | | | | | | |
| Phoenix AZ 85012 | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | VERAGES | | TIFICA | TE NUMBER;CL1110250 | INSURER F : | | | REVISION NUMBER: | | | | | |
| TI | IS IS TO CERTIFY THAT | T THE POLICIES | OF INS | URANCE LISTED BELOW HA | WE BEEN IS! | SUED TO | THE INSURE | D NAMED ABOVE FOR 1 | HE PO | LICY PERIOD | | | |
| 0 | REFICATE MAY BE ISS | SUED OR MAY | PERTAI | VENT, TERM OR CONDITION N, THE INSURANCE AFFORD ES, LIMITS SHOWN MAY HAVE | DED BY THE | POLICIE | S DESCRIBE | HEREIN IS SUBJECT T | O ALL | THE TERMS, | | | |
| E NSR | CLUSIONS AND CONDIT TYPE OF INSUR | | 727592160 | RAT | E BEEN REDU | LICY EFF | PAID CLAIMS POLICY EXP | LIM | 79 | | | | |
| .18 | GENERAL LIABILITY | ATVE | INGR W | VD POLICE HOMBLE | CHW | owners. | Department of | FACH OCCURRENCE | 1 | 1,000,000 | | | |
| | X COMMERCIAL GENERA | | | | | | | DAMAGE TO RENTED PREMISES (Ex popuranos) | \$ | 100,000 | | | |
| A | CLAMS-HADE | CLAMS-MADE X CCCUR | | 8P01366454-02 | 10/ | 10/6/2012 | 10/6/2013 | MED EXP (Any one person) | \$ | 5,000 | | | |
| | | | | | | | | PERSONAL & ADV INJURY OFNERAL ACCREGATE | 8 | 3,000,000 | | | |
| | GENL AGGRESATE LIMIT A | PPLIES PER: | | | | | | PRODUCTS - COMPLOP AGO | | 3,000,000 | | | |
| | X POLICY PRO- | LOC | | | | | | COMBINED SINCLE LEAT | \$ | | | | |
| | AUTONOBILE LIABILITY | | | | | | | (Ex euclident) | | 000,000 | | | |
| в | ANY AUTO ALL OWNED AUTOS | SCHEDULED | | 73APR281504 | 16/20 | 2012 | 10/7/2013 | BODILY INJURY (Per person) BODILY INJURY (Per person) | \$ | | | | |
| | HIRED AUTOS | AUTOS NON-OWNED AUTOS | | | | | | PIROPERTY DAMAGE IPW appointi | \$ | | | | |
| | | ABTOD | | | | | | a o announ | \$ | | | | |
| | UWBRELLA LIAB | accue. | | | | | | EACH OCCURRENCE | 5 | | | | |
| | DED RETENTIO | CLAIMS-MADE | | | | | | AGGREGATE | \$ | | | | |
| | WORKERS COMPENSATION AND EMPLOYERS' LIABILIT | 4 | | | | | | WC STATU- 07- | • | | | | |
| | AND EMPLOYER' COURCIL ANY PROPRETOR/PARTNER OFFICER/MEMSIRE EXCLUDE (Mandatory in NH) | NEXECUTIVE Y/N | N/A | | | | | ELL BACH ACCIDENT | 8 | | | | |
| | Mandatory in NH) If we, describe under DESCRIPTION OF OPERATI | ··· 🗋 | | | - 1 | | | E.L. DISEASE - EA EMPLOYS | | | | | |
| - | DESCRIPTION OF OPERATI | JNS below | | | | | | E.L. DISEASE - POLICY LIMI | 11 | | | | |
| | | | 1 | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| DES | REPTION OF OPERATIONS / I | LOCATIONS / VEHIC | LEB (An | ech ACORD 101, Additional Remarks | a Schedula, if m | iore space i | a required) | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| CE | RTIFICATE HOLDER | ····· | | | CANCEL | LATION | | | | | | | |
| - | 2) 364-4768 | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| 101 | x/304-4/00 | | | | THE EX | PIRATIO | DATE TH | ESCRIBED POLICIES BE EREOF, NOTICE WILL | BE D | ELIVERED IN | | | |
| | Arizona Depa | | | | ACCORE | ANCE W | TH THE POLE | Y PROVISIONS. | | | | | |
| Child Care Licensing Division 150 North 18th Avenue | | | | | AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE | | | | | | | | |
| | Suite 400 | | | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Phoenix, AZ | 85007 | | | Samuel . | Coulot | /GOULET | | | -0.7277 | | | |
| | | | | | logwoor . | ohnter | A GOAPPE | CONTRACTOR OF STREET | · · · · | | | | |

4. Do you require Motor Vehicle Insurance?

R9-5-308.A.

Proof of vehicle insurance

- If using a facility vehicle for taking enrolled children on fieldtrips
- If transporting children
 - Examples: To/from school or home, field trips
- Keep one copy on facility premises
- > Provide copy of changes to Department at time of changes



5. Do you require a Sanitation Inspection Report?

R9-5-509.A



Current Sanitation Permit dated before the license is issued for the following areas, as applicable:

- For your facility's kitchen
- For the school cafeteria
- License permit from caterer, if food is catered

Contact your County's Health Department/Sanitarian for more information



6. Do you have a Fire Inspection Report?

R9-5-309 Fire Inspection

Before license is issued, a <u>violation-free</u> Fire Inspection Report must be obtained from

Local fire department

OR

State Fire Marshal

Keep a copy of the current fire inspection on facility premises
 Provide a copy to Department before the license is issued and when requested by the Department

7. Do you require a Gas Inspection Report?

R9-5-309 Gas Inspection

If gas lines are on the premises...

A violation-free gas inspection is required before a license can be issued and must be conducted by

- A licensed plumber
 - OR
- Individual authorized by local jurisdiction

Conduct a gas inspection every 12 months after license issued

Keep a copy of the current gas inspection on facility premises

Provide a copy to Department before the license is issued and when requested by the Department



8. Do you have a roster prepared for each activity area?

R9-5-306 Attendance Records

Class attendance Roster for each *activity area*

Create a policy and procedures for staff to carry out how they will keep track of and document the presence of children in each activity area.

Definition: Activity area means a specific indoor or outdoor space or room of a licensed facility that is designated for use by an enrolled child for an activity.

9. Have you prepared an Illness and Infestation log?

R9-5-515 Illness and Infestation

A Log to record communicable illnesses and infestations is required for:

- Enrolled children
 - AND
- Staff members

Forms can be found on the Bureau of Child Care Licensing webpage http://azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index Select the Provider Info button

10. Will you administer medications?

R9-5-516 Medications

Medications - policy and procedures

- Prepare a written statement that specifies:
 - Whether or not prescription or nonprescription medications will be administered to enrolled children
- If medications will be administered:
 - Designate in writing who is responsible for the administration of all medication
 - Medication authorization form:
- Completed by enrolled child's parent or health care provider

Forms can be found on the Bureau of Child Care Licensing webpage http://azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index

Select the Provider Info button

11. Will you provide transportation?

R9-5-517.A.B. Transportation procedures

- Qualified driver
- Staff-to-children ratios are met (R9-5-404.)
- For transportation of enrolled children to and/or from school
 - Obtain dated, written permission from the enrolled child's parent before transporting child
 - Motor vehicle is registered, insured and inspected by our Department prior to use

12. Will you offer field trips?

R9-5-518.A. Field Trips

Field Trips procedures must be documented, if applicable

In order to transport children TO and FROM a field trip location:

- Obtain dated, written permission from the enrolled child's parent before the child participates in a field trip.
- Prepare a field trip plan

Forms can be found on the Bureau of Child Care Licensing webpage http://azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index Select the Provider Info button

13. Do you have attendance forms ready for parents to sign their child in and out?

R9-5-306.A. Admission and Release of Children

Sign in and out procedures for children

- Have attendance forms/system in place
- Include spaces for the child's name, date, time in and signature space, time out and signature
- Additional sign in and sign out spaces if necessary

14. Do you have daily attendance forms for staff to record their time in and out?

R9-5-301.A.3 General Licensee Responsibilities

Daily attendance procedures for all staff

- This includes the DIRECTOR
- Have a staff attendance form/system in place
 - Staff and director must enter their time of arrival and departure every day

Forms can be found on the Bureau of Child Care Licensing webpage http://azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index Select the Provider Info button

15. Do you have a complete first aid kit ready for use?

R9-5-514.A.1-8 Accident and Emergency Procedures

First Aid Kit must contain the following:

- A pair of scissors
- Re-closable 1 gallon bags
- Adhesive tape
- Antiseptic solution or sealed antiseptic wipes
- Single-use, non-porous gloves
- Sterile/individually packaged items:
 - Sterile Band-Aids of various sizes
 - Sterile gauze pads
 - Sterile gauze rolls

If purchasing a commercial kit, remove medication packets

16. Do you have a fire evacuation map created and posted in each activity area?

R9-5-514.C. Accident and Emergency Procedures

Fire evacuation map

- Posted near the fire exits in each room
- Remain posted at all times





17. Do you have a written accident, evacuation and emergency plan ready?



Select the Provider Info button

18. & 19. Do you have the required fire and safety equipment?

R9-5-605

Fire and Safety

- Fire Extinguisher mounted in classroom
- Record service checks of fire extinguisher
- Anything else as required by local fire department

R9-5-605, 301

A log to record smoke detector battery checks

20. Do you have a log ready to record monthly fire drills?

R9-5-301 General Licensee Responsibilities

- A log to record monthly fire drills
- Drills must be:
- Unannounced
- At different times of day
- Once a month

| | ICENSING | | INSTRUCT | | IS | |
|-----------------------------------|--------------------------------|-------------|---------------------|------|---|---------------|
| time. Familiar 2. Emphasis sho | rize children ould be place | wit ed u | h alternate routes. | erly | d each should be given evacuation under proj censing. | |
| DATE(year) | DAY | | TIME OF DAY | | EVACUATION TIME | BATTERY CHECK |
| JANUARY | | | | | | |
| FEBRUARY | | | | 1 | | |
| MARCH | | | | 1 | | |
| APRIL | | | | 1 | | |
| МАУ | | 1 | | 1 | | |
| JUNE | | | | 1 | | |
| JULY | | | | 1 | | |
| AUGUST | | | | 1 | | |
| SEPTEMBER | | 1 | | 1 | | |
| DCTOBER | | | | 1 | | |
| NOVEMBER | | | | 1 | | |
| DECEMBER | | | | 1 | | |

21. Does your staff have a schedule of daily activities posted?

R9-5-501 General Standards

Daily activity schedule posted:

- Inside each activity area (classroom)
- Includes:
- Time and name of activity scheduled
- Example:
 - 8:00 am Circle time
 - 8:30 am Table activities
 - 9:00 am Music and Movement

22. Does your staff have a lesson plan prepared and posted in each activity area?

R9-5-501.B.6 General Standards

A dated, weekly lesson plan is posted in each indoor activity area
 Example:

- Circle time = introduce theme (Vehicles/Transportation)
- Table activities = transportation theme puzzles/vehicle tracing sets/paint with cars
- Music/Movement = song, "Wheels on the bus"
- Sensory activity = hide/find mini vehicles
 in play dough



23. Is each activity area ready for enrolled children?

R9-5-501, 513, 514 Age Appropriate Equipment

- Equipment/tables/shelves in place
- Toys/books set up and accessible
- Dress-up items
- Sensory items
- Safe and ready for children's use





23. Is each activity area ready for enrolled children?

R9-5-501, 513, 514 Age Appropriate Equipment

- Arts & craft items
- Music & Science items
- Manipulatives





24. Is the outdoor activity area safe and ready for children?

R9-5-603 Outdoor Activity Areas

- Enclosed by a fence
- Open spaces do not exceed 4 inches
- Shade
- Resilient surface in fall zones
 - Definition of "fall zone" (R9-5-101.47)
 - Minimum of 6 inches resilient surface
- Drinking water accessible (R9-5-501.A.2)
- Hazard free and ready for use by enrolled children



25. Do you have a covered and lined garbage can for food waste?

R9-5-512 Cleaning & Sanitation

- Garbage can for food waste
 - Liner and cover

Floors and restrooms kept clean and sanitary

26. Do you have drinking water available and accessible?

R9-5-501.A.4 General Standards

Drinking water **sufficient** for the needs of and **accessible** to all children:

- Indoor activity areas
- Outdoor activity areas

27. Do you have a safe place to store hazardous items out of reach of children?

R9-5-501 General Standards



Toxic and flammable materials AND Items labeled with a child warning label

- Stored separate from food items
- Inaccessible (out of a child's reach) OR Locked

Hazardous facility equipment

- Toilet brushes, plungers, ladders, lawn mowers
 - Inaccessible (out of a child's reach) OR Locked

27. Do you have a safe place to store hazardous items out-of-reach of children?

R9-5-501 General Standards

Except when used as part of an activity, the following are stored in an area inaccessible to an enrolled child:

- Garden tools such as
 - a rake, trowel, and shovel;
- Cleaning equipment and supplies, such as
 - a mop and mop bucket.

Inaccessible means out of a child's reach OR locked.

28. Are the restrooms ready for use by enrolled children?

R9-5-512.D. Cleaning & Sanitation

Each restroom contains within easy reach of enrolled children:

- Mounted toilet tissue
- Dispensed soap
- Disposable, single-use paper towels in a mounted dispenser

Or

A mechanical air hand dryer



R9-5-303.A. Posting of Notices

Conspicuously posted for viewing:

- An area designated near the entrance for individuals entering or leaving the facility
- A designated location in the activity area





30. Do you have a qualified facility Director's Designee?

R9-5-401 Staff Qualifications: Facility Director's Designee

To qualify as a Director's Designee, the individual must be at least 21 years of age and meet the one of the qualification options listed in R9-5-401.2. (a-d).

The director's designee is to act on behalf of the facility director when the facility director is not present in the facility.

31. Do you have a weekly menu prepared and dated one week in advance?

R9-5-509 Food Service and Food Handling Standards

Menu:

- Prepare a weekly menu one week in advance
- Include names of specific foods
 - State actual kind of fruit- example: "peaches"
 - State actual kind of vegetable- example: "celery"
- Dated for current week
- Posted in area for conspicuous viewing
32. Does each enrolled child have a completed enrollment card?

R9-5-304 Enrollment of Children

Emergency, Information, and Immunization Record card

A copy of the Immunization Record must be attached

| Bureau of Child Care Licensing Emergency, Information and Immunization R | | Innuminities Information A status of a status of the version of the status of the Innumeric for the status of the status of For information status of the st | | |
|--|--|---|--|--|
| Child's Nume Data Eurolled: | Cpdated. | www.astha.mv.pha/mmun.index.lom or contact the Arcrona Immunication Program Office at (602)364-3630. | | |
| Home Address (*, Street, City, State, Zip Code): | Den Dommliel: | One of these items must accompany the EIIR card at all times: | | |
| Home Phone Date of Birth | Sec. anale a female | Copy of current official documented immunization record attached Relivious Beliefs exemption form sized by parent ruardian attached | | |
| | | Medical Exemption form signed by physician and parent guardian attached | | |
| | | Simed Laboratory Proof of Immunity form attached | | |
| Parran or Guardian Name Roma Address (*, Brens, Cay, Bans, Zip Code) | | Notification of communications medied sent to Parent(s) or Guardian(s) mo day ye mo day ye mo day ye | | |
| Col Plane (apara) Course Trippen Surber | | | | |
| | | Updated imminizations received and attached: | | |
| Neuro e Grane das Nasse Beans Addens (r. bren, Cay, Sena, EgiCado) Col Reau "piptus", Canica Tárgina Yandan. | | Medical Information Is chief allogies to food or other substances? I've, denable spectrum, sums food or substances to be readed, and the procedure to failow of maxime occurs. I've, denable spectrum, and food or substances to be readed, and the procedure to failow of maxime occurs. | | |
| | rgency or if I cannot be contacted: phone Number sphone Number | Is child untally susceptible to infectous and if so, what precautous need to be taken? No Yes If yes, hit presistous | | |
| | pine Nanber pine Nanber | Is child subject to construisions and what should be our procedure if one occurs? | | |
| Избей сит и велицир са Нада Сит Лини Ричинг "Affald Car Provide в роуков, руков ани изан от притед ване распосе. | | Is there may physical condution that we should be aware of and what precautions should be taken (therit moules, foct problem, hearing suparment, hensis, etc.)? If yo, its remaining: | | |
| | | Adinesi commu | | |
| In case of injury or sudden illness, I request that this individual be called first: | | Other special instructions: | | |
| The following individual(s) may NOT remove my child from the facility: State(s) Curredy paper have been provided and are on fit at the facility. Using paper have been provided and are on fit at the facility. Using paper have been provided and are on fit at the facility. Using paper have been provided and are on fit at the facility. Using paper have been provided and are on fit at the facility. | | The Temper's Information and Learning Barrel Card a service of conciles, for earliest, and was periodity. NeuroCastion R.SYLD New SIGNID New SALE | | |
| Telephone Authorization Code (optional): | | 0. Pena Fangery Menanis ad Insurants Rend Carl (314) | | |

Forms can be found on the Bureau of Child Care Licensing webpage http://azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index

Select the Provider Info button

33. Do you have a system to maintain complete staff files?

| R9-5-402 Staff Records & Reports | PERSONNEL RECORDS R9-5-402.A., R9-5-403 | |
|--|--|--|
| | 1. Employee Name Date of Birth: | |
| | Home Address: Position: | |
| | Telephone #: Alone Supervised | |
| | 2. Start Date: Hire Dale: (if different) | |
| Maintain a file for each staff member | 3. End Date: | |
| | 4. Emergency Contact:(name) Phone # | |
| Personnel records checklist | Mailing address | |
| | Immunization Statement: In Compliance with Arizona State Law, the undersigned does hereby testify that he/she has immunizations against measles, rubella, diphtheria, mumps and pertussis that are | |
| (form available on website) | current. Employee Signature:Date: | |
| | 6-7. Verification of Eingerprint Registration (see A.R.S. § 36-882.02.c, R9-8-203): | |
| Deservels must be evailable on facility many isses | Original signed Criminal History Affidive diated Copy of the Applicant Fingerprint Registration Application (application #) Copy of the Applicant Engraphic Clearance Gard (expiration data)(#) | |
| Records must be available on facility premises | DPS contacted (date) 		Valid | |
| | 8. Documents required by R9-5-301(F) Mantoux TB Test Results (on or win, confins prior to start date) date of test results A health are provider's signed statement that the individual is free from TB, dated win 6 months of start date | |
| | A real care provider's signed statement that the individual is neer form 1B, dated with 5 months of start date 9. Documents required by R9-5-401 | |
| | High School Diploma/GED Certificate | |
| | Work Experience (date) | |
| | 10. Written Documentation of Training required by R9-5-403 New Staff Training within 10 days of starting date (date) | |
| | Eighteen (18) Hours of Annual In-Service Training based on starting date, including at least 6 hours in areas of child growth & development | |
| | YEAR: (based on hire date) | |
| | | |
| | I1. Current License or Certification AZ Driver's License (f a van driven) Food Handlers Card First Aid Certificate CPR Certificate | |
| | Expires: Exp | |
| | Contact 1 Contact 1 Contact 2 Name: Date: Name: Date: | |
| | T3. CPS Registry background check CPS Registry Direct Service Position form or Affidavit form | |
| | | |
| | RETAIN ENTIRE FILE 12 MONTHS FROM TERMINATION DATE CDC/Pussonel records thetklin.doc (2/15) CCL form - 256 | |
| Forms can be found on the Bureau of Child Care Licensing webpage | | |
| http://azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index | | |
| Select the Provider Info button | | |
| | | |

34. Do you have a system to maintain inspection reports

A.R.S.§36-882.Q., R9-5-309 and 509 Department Inspection Reports

Available to parents on request

Maintain a file for all other inspection reports:

- Sanitation inspection or permit
- Gas inspection
- Fire inspection

Available for review during inspections

35. Do you have sleeping and napping equipment ready?

R9-5-511.A. Sleeping and Napping

Each child who sleeps or naps at the facility is provided with:

- Cot, mat or crib
- Clean sheet to cover cot, mat, crib
- Clean blanket or sheet available

36. Do you have a *separate* cot or mat, a sheet and a blanket available?

R9-5-501.A.10 General Standards

Provides in one indoor activity area one cot or mat, with a sheet and a blanket available

So an ill or tired child can rest quietly away from other children

37. Do you have a complete diaper changing area prepared?

R9-5-503.A. and 601.4. Standards for Diaper Changing
Ensure that the diapering area is set up per rule requirements

Required in each activity area with diapered children





38. Are you prepared for infant care?

R9-5-502 Supplemental Standards for Infants

Age appropriate activities

- Active and quiet
- Indoor and outdoor
- Tummy time while awake
- Non abrasive flooring
- Keeps dated, daily, documentation of each infant including:
- Description of activities infant participated in
- The infant's food consumption
- Diaper changes

39. Is at least one staff member with current CPR and first aid training present at all times?

R9-5-403, 301 Training Requirements

First Aid certification – <u>for child and infants</u>

CPR certification – <u>for child and infants</u>

Must include demonstration of skill



40. Do you have safe climbing equipment, fall zone surfaces, and shade ready?

R9-5-603 Outdoor Activity

- Resilient surfacing is required
- Hard surface material is not used under resilient surfacing
 - Unless used as a base <u>for rubber surfacing only</u>
- Shade for all children playing in the outside activity area



Here is a list of forms available for your use on the Department's website...

Child Care Centers and Public Schools

- <u>Center Rules Instrument Checklist</u>
- <u>Center Rules Instrument (Condensed)</u>
- Infant Daily Log
- <u>New Facility Readiness Self Checklist</u>
- Personnel Records Checklist
- Posting of Notices
- <u>Recommended Accident, Evacuation & Emergency Plan</u>
- <u>Retention Requirements</u>
- <u>Staff Qualification Guidelines</u>
- <u>Statement of Services Checklist</u>
- Abuse and Neglect Documentation Sheet
- Accident & Illness Log
- Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status
- <u>Checklist for Training of New Staff Member</u>
- <u>Child's Sign-In and Sign-Out Sheet by Date</u>
- <u>Child's Sign-In and Sign-Out Sheet by Month</u>

List of forms continued...

| Child Care Licensing and Group Home Certification (**means the |
|--|
| Department's approved form must be used) |
| Communicable Disease Information |
| Controlling Persons Guidelines |
| ** Criminal History Affidavit |
| Diaper Changing Log |
| Diaper Changing Procedure Chart |
| Employee's Professional Reference Documentation |
| ** Emergency Information and Immunization Record Card |
| Emergency Preparedness |
| Employee Training Log |
| Fire Drill and Smoke Detector Battery Log |
| Fingerprint Guidelines |
| Fingerprint Clearance Card update Form |
| Fingerprint Clearance Card Tracker |
| Foreign Credentials Evaluation Agencies |
| Helpful Telephone List For Child Care Providers |

List of forms continued...

| Child Care Licensing and Group Home Certification | | |
|--|--|--|
| Incident-Injury Report | | |
| Immunization Information for Enrolled Children | | |
| Immunization Verification for Staff Members | | |
| Individualized Plan | | |
| Infant Feeding Instructions | | |
| Log of Accident, Injury, Emergency, Illness, Infestation and Absence | | |
| Meal Patterns | | |
| Mediation Consent Form | | |
| Parent Alert Notice | | |
| Poisoning Prevention | | |
| Staff Report | | |
| Toys and Equipment-Guidelines for Compliance | | |
| Travel Permission Form | | |
| Written Documentation of Corrections Instructions | | |

Congratulations!

You have now completed the Readiness Self Checklist Guide!

Use your Readiness Self Checklist to ensure all the required areas have been addressed

Contact the **Bureau of Child Care Licensing** for assistance 602-364-2539 (Phoenix) or 520-628-6541 (Tucson) from 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM Monday through Friday (except holidays)

And remember... go to our website for help with forms already created for your use! http://azdhs.gov/licensing/childcare-facilities/index

Your State Compliance Officer looks forward to your facility's successful Initial Inspection.

BCCL Training