Due to technical difficulties, all Medical Marijuana online applications will be unavailable until 8AM, Tuesday, March 11th. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
Environmental Laboratory Licensure
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Monday March 24th is World TB Day. Check out our new lab page with info about testing for tuberculosis.
What is a public health laboratory? Watch this animated video to learn how public health laboratories protect the public against diseases and other health hazards.
- Show All
- Hide All
- Print All
What is Environmental Laboratory Licensure?
Environmental laboratory licensure is designed to help protect the Public Health and Environment by surveying all licensed laboratories for compliance with all applicable regulations and reviewing their compliance testing data for scientific validity and defensibility.
Who should be licensed?
Environmental laboratories that perform testing on compliance samples in drinking water, wastewater, hazardous waste and air are required to be licensed by the State of Arizona. Compliance testing is defined in A.R.S. § 36-495.
Where can I find Arizona's environmental laboratory regulations?
Statutes may be found by visiting the Arizona State Legislature and looking at Title 36 Chapter 4.3.
Does the State of Arizona accept reciprocity from other states? from NELAC Institute?
Arizona does not currently accept reciprocity from any state or organization that licenses environmental laboratories. Laboratories that do not need an Arizona license are those that perform asbestos testing, except in drinking water, and are National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP) accredited ( A.R.S. § 36-495.02(A)).
How do I apply for an Arizona laboratory license?
An application, which may be found on the Environmental Laboratory Licensure home page or by contacting (602) 364-0728, must be completed and mailed to the following address with the application fee:
Arizona Department of Health Services
Office of Laboratory Services
250 N. 17th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85007-3231
Who do I contact if I have a change of ownership, director or facility name?
Contact OLS at (602) 364-0728. Laboratories should notify the office within 20 days of the date of change (A.R.S. § 36-495.03) by completing Part A of the application, notarizing and mailing it to the office.
Who do I contact if I have a change of address?
Contact OLS at (602) 364-0728 or email us. Licenses are issued for the physical location of the laboratory (A.R.S. § 36-495.03). When a laboratory moves, the laboratory must submit a completed application with applicable fees. The laboratory will be assigned a new license number and new license dates.
How can I find out which laboratories are licensed?
Individuals can contact OLS at (602) 364-0728 or email us for a list of laboratories licensed by Arizona or may use the links provided in #9 below. Examples of lists include for all licensed laboratories, licensed for drinking water, for a specific method (300.0), or for a specific analyte (chloride).
Is the list of licensed laboratories available on the web?
Yes. There are three search options for licensed laboratories available on the web. Explanations of each option are provided next to the link. The information is refreshed every 24 hours. Additional questions or information may be obtained by contacting OLS at (602) 364-0728 or email us.
Safe Drinking Water Commercial Laboratory List - A list of commercial laboratories licensed in Arizona to test drinking water samples for businesses and private citizens.
Safe Drinking Water Commercial Lab List with Parameters- A list of commercial laboratories licensed in Arizona to test drinking water samples for businesses and private citizens and the option to select a laboratory's list of licensed parameters (i.e. analytes and methods licensed for).
Arizona List of Licensed Laboratories with Parameters - A list of all laboratories licensed by the state of Arizona for testing of drinking water, wastewater, solid waste and air.
What do I need for a director approval request?
Director approval requests per ADHS rule A.A.C. R9-14-610.C.1 (as listed in Part E, Section 2 of the application). The basic information that would be required is as follows:
The name, address, and telephone number of the licensee submitting the request.
The name, address, and telephone number of the laboratory for which approval if the alternate method or method alteration is requested
Identification of the parameter for which approval of the alternate method or method alteration is requested
Reference to the EPA, ADEQ, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, or A.A.C. requirement or authorization for the use of the alternate method or method alteration for which approval is requested
An alternate method or method alteration approval fee of $50 payable to the Arizona Department of Health Services in the form of a certified check, business check, money order, or credit card payment.
The director approval process will be assisted by having a letter requesting director approval that includes an attachment of the referenced method and the documentation (EPA letter or Federal Register) showing that the EPA/ADEQ or FDA approved the method for the intended use.
In order to be certified for the director approved method, the laboratory will need to provide a current SOP, acceptable proficiency study, where applicable, and IDOC summary (e.g. MDL), where applicable.