Due to scheduled maintenance by the Arizona Department of Administration to the state datacenter, azdhs.gov and related services will be unavailable from 10:00 p.m. Friday, November 15, until 10:00 a.m. Saturday, November 16. Thank you for your patience.
Office of Newborn Screening
Healthcare Providers – Requirements
As partners in the system of care for a newborn/infant in Arizona, providers and the Office of Newborn Screening work together to ensure that parents make informed decisions about newborn screening, that best practices are followed in their practice, and that all babies have equal access to care. For a discussion of provider responsibilities under these rules, visit our Provider Responsibilities page. Although not exhaustive, here are a few guidelines to follow.
Please be advised, results from each screening or diagnostic test performed must be sent to the Office of Newborn Screening. Our fax number is 602-364-1495.
- Results of all hearing screening and subsequent tests for hearing loss performed on newborns and infants must be reported to the Office of Newborn Screening, along with identifying information for the baby and the facility performing the test. Please see the Appendices for the complete reporting requirements in Rules (R9-13-207).
- Results from each hearing screening or diagnostic test performed must be sent to the Office of Newborn Screening within one week of the test date.
- All tests, even if normal, should be reported. Normal results help the Newborn Screening Follow-up team know when the child no longer needs active follow-up.
- To report any out-patient hearing screening, please submit the following:
- Use for reporting screening only (not diagnostic results)
- Multiple infants can be reported on the same form
- Include the mother's identifying information
- Report the results of either the Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE) screening or the Automated Auditory Brainstem Response (AABR) screening
Diagnostic Testing Forms
- Use the referral forms customized by region (Phoenix, Flagstaff, Tucson and Yuma) when referring a baby for a diagnostic test.
- Refer a child who has been diagnosed with bilateral permanent hearing loss to Early Intervention Services
- Report diagnostic test results to the state Office of Newborn Screening.
- Results to be reported include:
- Unilateral hearing loss
- Transient hearing loss
- Hearing loss in children older than three years and
- NORMAL results ruling out a hearing loss
- Notification to Arizona Audiologist & Community Health Centers
Fill out each specimen card completely.
- First specimens must be collected, according to whichever of the following occurs first:
- 24-72 hours of age (closer to 24 hours is recommended)
- Before a transfusion
- Before discharge from the hospital
- Second specimens should be collected:
- at the first visit to the healthcare provider, or
- between 5 to 10 days of age, whichever comes first
- unless you verify that another provider collected the 2nd specimen.
Arizona requires healthcare providers to collect a blood specimen for new patients up to one year of age unless results of previous tests are verified.
Labs should send each blood specimen to the State Lab within 24 hours of collection.
Results from subsequent tests performed at labs other than the State Lab in response to an abnormal screening test must be sent to the Office of Newborn Screening. Our fax number is 602-364-1495.
Arizona Statutes and Authority
- The statute establishing the Office of Newborn Screening, designating the State Lab as the only testing facility of the program, and requiring hearing tests to be reported can be found in ARS § 36-694
- The statute establishing the Office of Newborn Screening fund can be found in ARS § 36-694.01
- The statute regarding insurance coverage of medical foods can be found in ARS § 20-2327
Arizona Administrative Code
- Rules regarding the Office of Newborn Screening are available at the Arizona Secretary of State's website in: Title 9, Health Services, Chapter 13