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On November 7, 2006, Arizona voters approved Proposition 201, the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, A.R.S. § 
36-601.01 (“the Act” or the Law). The Law went into effect on May 1, 2007, prohibiting smoking inside and 
within 20 feet of entrances, open windows, and ventilation systems of most enclosed public places and 
places of employment, with a few exemptions.

While the Act prohibits smoking inside most enclosed public places and places of employment in 
Arizona, smoking is allowed in establishments that meet specific exemption criteria. There are seven 
exemptions, including private residences, designated smoking rooms in hotels and motels, retail tobacco 
stores, veterans and fraternal clubs, smoking when associated with a religious ceremony pursuant to 
the American Indian Religious Freedom Act of 1978, outdoor patios, and theatrical performances upon a 
stage or in the course of a film or television production.

Also included in Proposition 201, was the imposition of a two-cent tax per pack of cigarettes to be 
deposited into the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund, which must be used to enforce the provisions of the Law. If 
a proprietor of an establishment does not correct violations as requested, demonstrates willful violations, 
or exhibits a pattern of noncompliance with the Act, (s)he is subject to enforcement action. The proprietor 
may receive a Notice of Violation (NOV) or an assessment of civil penalty fines between $100 and $500 
for each violation. If injunctive relief is requested, the Superior Court may impose appropriate injunctive 
relief and civil penalty fines up to $5,000 per violation.

The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS), through delegation agreements with all but one of 
Arizona’s counties, works to ensure that Arizonans are protected from secondhand smoke exposure 
in most enclosed public places and places of employment. The county health departments conduct 
consultations and on-site visits at public places and places of employment, including but not limited to, 
local businesses, bars, and restaurants to provide education and to ensure continued compliance with 
the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016, a total of 25,833 educational visits, 
consultations, and on-site visits were conducted. Many business proprietors have made steps to go 
above and beyond the requirements of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. In addition to making the necessary 
changes to comply with the Act, such as posting the required “No Smoking” signs and moving ashtrays, 
proprietors have also continued to build outdoor patios, provide designated smoking areas, and establish 
in-house policies that are more strict than the Act to accommodate their employees and customers.

During the ninth year after the Law went into effect, between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016, a total of 
1425 complaints alleging violations of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act were filed statewide. Most of the 
complaints were regarding people smoking outside within twenty feet of an entrance and the presence of 
ashtrays located outside within twenty feet of an entrance.

A total of two NOVs were issued statewide between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016, both of which were 
issued by the Coconino County Public Health Services District. As a result of education provided by the 
Coconino County Smoke-Free Arizona Program, the proprietors that were issued these NOVs corrected 
violations observed and did not face any civil money penalties. These NOVs were issued to proprietors 
that permitted employees, to smoke inside or were actively smoking in enclosed public places and places 
of employment. No new cases were brought before the Superior Court for injunctive relief this year.

In 2016, Arizona earned an “A” grade on the American Lung Association State of Tobacco Control Report 
for maintaining a strong and comprehensive enforcement program of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. For 
the ninth year in a row, the report has recognized the continued success of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
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SMOKE-FREE ARIZONA PROGRAM
BACKGROUND
Secondhand smoke is defined as the combination of smoke exhaled by 
a smoker and the smoke generated by the burning end of a cigarette (or 
other tobacco product). Secondhand smoke is a mixture of 4,000 chemical 
compounds that are released into the air as gases and particles. Of these 
4,000 compounds, 69 have been identified as carcinogens or cancer-causing 
agents, 11 of which have been specifically identified as human carcinogens.

Exposure to secondhand smoke is a health concern for people of all ages. 
In 1992, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) officially listed 
secondhand smoke as a Class A carcinogen. In 2006, the U.S. Surgeon 
General’s report stated that there is no risk-free level of exposure to 
secondhand smoke. Breathing even a little secondhand smoke can be harmful 
to your health.

In November of 2006, Arizona voters made their voices heard by passing 
the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, A.R.S. § 36-601.01 (“the Act” or “the Law”). The 
Act protects all Arizonans from the harmful effects of secondhand smoke 
exposure in most enclosed public places and places of employment and within 
20 feet of entrances, open windows, and ventilation systems. Also included in 
the Act, is a two-cent tax per pack of cigarettes to be deposited in the Smoke-
Free Arizona Fund, which must be used to enforce the provisions of the Law. 
The Act went into effect on May 1, 2007.

The Act prohibits smoking inside enclosed public places and places of 
employment with a few exemptions:
1. Private residences, except when used as a licensed child care, adult day 

care, or health care facility;
2. Hotel and motel rooms that are rented to guests and are designated as 

smoking rooms; provided however that not more than fifty percent of 
rooms rented to guests in a hotel or motel are so designated;

3. Retail tobacco stores that are physically separated so that smoke from 
retail tobacco stores does not infiltrate into areas where smoking is 
prohibited under the provisions of this section;

4. Veterans and fraternal clubs when they are not open to the general public;
5. Smoking when associated with a religious ceremony practiced pursuant to 

the American Indian Religious Freedom Act of 1978;
6. Outdoor patios so long as tobacco smoke does not enter areas where 

smoking is prohibited through entrances, windows, ventilation systems, or 
other means; and

7. A theatrical performance upon a stage or in the course of a film or 
television production.

For each exemption to the Act, there are specific requirements that must 
be met to qualify. These criteria are defined in the Act and in the Arizona 
Administrative Code, Title 9, Chapter 2, Article 1.

1.0

1.1
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Under the Act, the proprietor of a public place or a place of employment is 
responsible for:
• Removing all indoor ashtrays and smoking receptacles and moving all 

outdoors ashtrays and smoking receptacles at least 20 feet away of 
entrances;

• Posting the required “No Smoking” signs at every entrance into the 
establishment;

• Educating all existing and prospective employees about the Act;
• Prohibiting anyone, such as employees, vendors, visitors, and customers 

from smoking within 20 feet of all entrances, open windows, and ventilation 
systems, and inside the establishment; and

• Informing violators by politely requesting that they extinguish their lit 
tobacco product or that they smoke outside at least 20 feet away from the 
entrance, open window, or ventilation system.

If a proprietor of an establishment does not correct violations as requested, 
or demonstrates willful violations or a pattern of noncompliance with the Act,     
(s)he are subject to enforcement action. (S)he may receive a Notice of Violation 
(“NOV”) or an assessment of civil penalty fines between $100 and $500 for 
each violation. If injunctive relief is requested, the Superior Court may impose 
appropriate injunctive relief and civil penalty fines up to $5,000 per violation.

ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF ADHS
The provisions of the Act assign implementation and enforcement of the Law 
to ADHS. In order to accomplish this, the Office of Environmental Health, due 
to its extensive experience with education, inspections, investigations, and 
enforcement, oversees the Smoke-Free Arizona Program.
The Smoke-Free Arizona Program is responsible for:
• Providing free signage to businesses;
• Maintaining the Smoke-Free Arizona website: www.smokefreearizona.org;
• Answering inquiries coming via the information line: 1-877-AZSTOPS (1-

877-297-8677), or from the smokefreearizona@azdhs.gov mailbox;
• Taking complaints coming through the complaint line:
• 1-877-4AZNOSMOKE (1-877-429-6676), or from the nosmokingarizona@

azdhs.gov mailbox;
• Conducting on-site advisory visits;
• Maintaining a statewide database used by the county health departments 

for complaint investigations and referrals;
• Providing training to new and existing health educators and environmental 

health inspectors;
• Providing educational materials to county health departments;

1.2
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• Assisting county health departments during complaint investigations 
or advisory visits by riding along with the health educators or the 
environmental health inspectors;

• Providing guidance to the county health departments with regards to 
education, compliance, and enforcement;

• Initiating enforcement procedures for cases referred by Cochise, Gila, 
Maricopa, Pinal, Santa Cruz, and Yavapai Counties; and

• Conducting education and compliance activities in Santa Cruz County.

ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE COUNTY 
HEALTH DEPARTMENTS
EDUCATION AND COMPLIANCE
ADHS and the county health departments work diligently to protect all 
Arizonans from secondhand smoke exposure and to ensure uniform 
compliance with the Law throughout the State. Delegation agreements have 
been signed with all but one of the State’s fifteen counties to assist ADHS with 
education and compliance assistance. Funding is provided to these counties 
using money from the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund.

Depending on the infrastructure of the county health department, education 
and compliance assistance are performed by either health educators from 
their Tobacco Education and Prevention Program or by environmental health 
inspectors from their Environmental Services Division. The map below 
represents the lead program for each county:

1.3
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ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES DIVISION
The Environmental Services Division is the lead program for education and 
compliance in Cochise, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, Mohave, Navajo, and Pinal 
Counties. Environmental health inspectors verify compliance and provide 
education about the Act during routine food safety and environmental health 
inspections. Smoke-Free Arizona violations have been included on inspection 
checklists to monitor compliance with the Act. In addition, environmental 
health inspectors carry “No Smoking” signs and educational brochures for 
distribution during routine inspections and complaint investigations.

TOBACCO EDUCATION AND PREVENTION PROGRAM
The Tobacco Education and Prevention Program is responsible for compliance 
and education in Apache, Coconino, La Paz, Maricopa, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma 
Counties. Health educators have been actively working with businesses in their 
communities by providing education about the Smoke-Free Arizona Act and 
explaining the benefits of smoke-free environments.

In the majority of these counties, a solid partnership exists between the 
Tobacco Education and Prevention Program and the Environmental Services 
Division. For example if an environmental health inspector observes a smoking 
violation during a routine inspection in a food establishment, he or she will 
notify the health educator. The health educator will follow-up with the person in 
charge of the food establishment to ensure compliance with the Law.

APACHE COUNTY DUAL LEAD PROGRAMS: 
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES DIVISION & TOBACCO 
EDUCATION AND PREVENTION PROGRAM
Joining efforts of health educators from the Tobacco Education and Prevention 
Program and environmental health inspectors from the Environmental Health 
Services Division is the key to ensuring compliance in Apache County.

For establishments permitted under the Apache 
County Health Code, such as restaurants, 
bars, grocery stores, hotels/motels, and public 
accommodations, education and complaint 
investigations are conducted by environmental 
health inspectors. For non-permitted 
establishments such as retail stores, repair shops, 
business offices, and shopping centers, education 
and complaint investigations are conducted by 
health educators from the Tobacco Education and 
Prevention Program.
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ENFORCEMENT OF THE LAW
Nine county health departments have the delegated authority for enforcement 
activities such as issuing NOVs, assessing civil penalty fines, attending 
administrative hearings, and seeking injunctive relief.

The map below illustrates who is responsible for enforcement in each county.

The counties conducting their own enforcement activities are Apache, 
Coconino, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, Pima and Yuma. For 
these counties, the delegation agreement delineates the enforcement duties 
and additional funding is provided to support these duties.

For the remaining six counties, Cochise, Gila, Maricopa, Pinal, Santa Cruz, and 
Yavapai, ADHS provides assistance for enforcement.  This means that once 
a pattern of noncompliance is documented, or there is evidence of willful 
violation of the Act, the county health department refers the case to ADHS for 
enforcement. The enforcement procedures are explained in Section 5.0 of this 
report.

ADHS – SANTA CRUZ COUNTY

The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program is 
responsible for education and compliance in 
Santa Cruz County. This includes investigating 
complaints, conducting on-site inspections, and 
educating the community about the Law and its 
requirements.
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AMOUNT AND SOURCE OF PROGRAM FUNDING
The Smoke-Free Arizona Act includes a two-cent tax that is imposed on each 
pack of cigarettes purchased. The money collected from this tax is deposited 
into the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund and used to enforce the Act. Any money 
remaining in the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund, after ADHS and its delegates have 
met enforcement obligations for the fiscal year, is deposited into the Tobacco 
Products Tax Fund and used for education programs to reduce and eliminate 
tobacco use.

The graph below shows the amount of money received monthly in the Smoke- 
Free Arizona Fund from May 1, 2015 to April 30, 2016. The total revenue 
for the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund from May 1, 2015 to April 30, 2016 was 
$2,550,724.98
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The graph below shows the amount of money received yearly in the Smoke-
Free Arizona Fund from May 1, 2007 to April 30, 2016. 
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EDUCATION
As we cross the threshold of the ninth year after implementation of the 
Smoke-Free Arizona Act, we continue to make major strides to improve 
the communication and educational information about the Act that is 
disseminated to the public and businesses of Arizona.

ENHANCING THE WEBSITE: 
WWW.SMOKEFREEARIZONA.ORG
As the main channel of communication with the public, business owners, 
and other partners throughout Arizona, the Smoke-Free Arizona website 
is an essential part of the educational outreach of the Smoke-Free Arizona 
(SFA) Program. The SFA website contains detailed information about all the 
requirements of the Act and how these requirements apply to different indoor 
and outdoor areas. Useful tips for compliance, program updates, answering 
frequently asked questions about the Law, and links to valuable resources 
are also available. In addition, users can order free “No Smoking” signs, and 
report violations by either filling out an easy online form or by downloading the 
mySmokeFreeAZ mobile phone application.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program website is designed with a streamlined 
layout that features user-friendly navigation. There are easy to access 
information boxes that highlight important features of the program such as 
reporting violations, ordering signs, complying with the law, outdoor areas, 
residential areas and publications. The FAQ section also provides answers to 
many of the most frequently asked questions. Visitors to the website can also 
still access links to the rules and statutes, and other resources.

The Smoke-Free Arizona website is continuously maintained by updating or 
adding relevant information that can aid in reaching the general public and 
assisting proprietors to comply with the Act. In addition, the Smoke-Free 
Arizona Timeline provides an overview of important milestones in the Smoke- 
Free Arizona Program history. The Timeline also provides a quick insight into 
the types of activities and responsibilities of the Smoke-Free Arizona Program.
To date, the most popular features of the website are still the sign order page 
and the online complaint reporting system. Since the Law went into effect, 
business owners have been able to order required “No Smoking” signage free 
of charge from the website. In addition, concerned citizens continue to report 
violations of the Act by filing a complaint form online in three easy steps. 
Allowing concerned citizens to file complaints alleging violations of the Law is 
not only mandated by the Act, but it is also an effective tool to aid in education 
and compliance assistance.

2.0

2.1

http://www.smokefreearizona.org
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The image below is a print screen of the recently updated Smoke-Free Arizona 
Program website.

ANSWERING THE INFORMATION HOTLINE: 
1-877-AZ-STOPS (1-877-297-8677)
As required by the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, ADHS provides a 24/7 toll-free 
information line to answer inquiries from the general public and business 
owners. During business hours, ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program staff 
answer the calls. After business hours, live assistance is provided by an 
answering service agency. The answering service agency staff is trained to 
answer general questions about the Act, fulfill requests for free signage, and 
document reports of violations. The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program and 
the after hour answering service agency provide live assistance to citizens, 
business owners and property management specialists inquiring about the 
Smoke-Free Arizona Act. An approximate combined total of 1,069 calls were 
received between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016. Fifty-seven percent of 
the calls received were inquiries about the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, while 
the remaining calls were either requests for free signage or from individuals 
reporting violations of the Act. 

2.2

An approximate combined 
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Number of Calls Received by 
ADHS and by the After Hours 

Answering Service between May 
1, 2015 and April 30, 2016

Percentage of Calls by Category 
Received by ADHS between May 

1, 2015 and April 30, 2016

Of these calls, the top five types of inquiries received during business hours 
were regarding:
• The reasonable distance from entrances where smoking is prohibited (the 

“20 Foot Rule”);
• “Designated smoking areas”;
• Sign requirements;
• Smoking in multi-family housing; and
• How complaints are investigated.

57%
Inquiries

26%26%
Complaints

17%
Sign Orders

The pie chart below shows the categories of calls (by percentage) received 
during business hours by ADHS. 

Calls to Answering Services

Calls during Business Hours

MONTH

C
O

M
PL

AI
NT

S

0

30

60

90

120

150

APRMARFEBJANDECNOVOCTSEPAUGJULJUNMAY

48
3339

38
3636

47

34

30
39

6769

456158
35454450

25
63465153

GRAPH 2.1

PIE CHART 2.1

The graph below shows the number of calls received during and after business 
hours. 
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MAINTAINING THE EMAIL ADDRESSES: 
SMOKEFREEARIZONA@AZDHS.GOV AND
NOSMOKINGARIZONA@AZDHS.GOV
The smokefreearizona@azdhs.gov email address is solely dedicated to 
answering questions and providing information to the general public and 
business owners about the requirements of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. The 
ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program Specialists are responsible for replying to 
all inquiries received in this email mailbox.

The nosmokingarizona@azdhs.gov email address is used to process reports 
of violations. Occasionally this email mailbox will receive general questions 
from citizens and business owners, which are answered by an ADHS Smoke-
Free Arizona Program Specialist.

20' Rule
11%

Other
20%

Multi-Family
Housing

5%
How Complaints
are Investigated

6%
Sign

Requirements
6%6%

Designated
Smoking Area
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57%
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Percentage of Calls by Category 
Received by ADHS Between 

May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016 
Including the Top Five Inquiries

PIE CHART 2.1

2.3

The pie chart below illustrates the types of calls received and the most 
frequent questions received.

mailto:smokefreearizona%40azdhs.gov%20?subject=Smoke%20Free%20Arizona
mailto:nosmokingarizona%40azdhs.gov?subject=No%20Smoke%20Arizona
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“NO SMOKING” SIGNS
The Smoke-Free Arizona Act requires that most enclosed public places and 
places of employment in Arizona have a “No Smoking” sign posted at every 
entrance. All entrances should have signs posted except for doors leading to 
an outdoor patio and doors used as an emergency exit. Signs should include 
all the required information and be clearly and conspicuously posted. Business 
owners have the option to order “No Smoking” signs free of charge from the 
Smoke-Free Arizona Program or they may choose to create their own signs as 
long as the required information is included.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program offers four unique 4 x 6 inch “No Smoking” 
stickers with an adhesive on the back that easily attaches to any surface. A 
larger, more conspicuous 4 x 12 inch sticker was created. This sign is clearly 
visible, contains all the required language and reporting information, and 
accentuates the 20 Foot Rule. The larger 20 Foot Rule helps businesses 
communicate to their employees and customers that smoking is prohibited 
inside and within 20 feet of entrances. The newest sign created is a 4 x 6 
English sticker with the 20 Foot Rule accentuated with a larger font. The 4 x 6 
sticker is the most popular sign because of its size and design, adhesive back, 
and its ultraviolet (UV) coating on the front to protect the sign from fading in 
the Arizona sun.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program provides the following types of signs:
• 3 x 5 inch vehicle sticker
• 4 x 6 inch English sticker (with or without the 20 Foot Rule disclosure)
• 4 x 6 inch Bilingual sticker (with or without the 20 Foot Rule disclosure)
• 4 x 12 inch English sticker (with the 20 Foot Rule disclosure).

Over 1,000 sign orders were placed by businesses. 
In addition, signs are distributed to businesses 
during complaint inspections, advisory visits, 
educational visits, and routine inspections 
conducted by county health educators and health 
inspectors. A total of 40,492  signs were distributed 
statewide. The demand for free signs has remained 
steady over the years. On average, the Smoke-Free 
Arizona Program has distributed approximately 
50,104 signs yearly in the last nine years. 

2.4
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ADVISORY VISITS
Smoke-Free Arizona Program staff provide compliance assistance to 
proprietors by performing advisory visits at their public place or place of 
employment. Upon request, county environmental health inspectors, county 
health educators, and ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program Specialists 
visit public places and places of employment to assist with answering any 
questions that the proprietor may have about a specific area of concern. 
Between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016, 116 advisory visits were conducted. 
Some of these visits were done at the request of proprietors; others were 
conducted as a result of outreach efforts. In previous  years, the Smoke-
Free Arizona Program created two advisory forms as a tool to document 
compliance efforts during these educational visits and to provide information 
to business proprietors. The standard Advisory Form not only documents 
the visit and the establishment’s information, but it also includes a list of 
requirements of the Act with which proprietors must comply.

Since most advisory visits are requested by proprietors that have questions 
about outdoor patios and/or designated smoking areas, the Smoke-Free 
Arizona Program also created an Outdoor Patio Advisory Form. This advisory 
form is used frequently to provide guidance about the requirements of outdoor 
patios as defined by Arizona Administrative Code R9-2-108. The advisory form 
also defines the 20 Foot Rule and further clarifies how it applies to outdoor 
patios.

County environmental health inspectors, county health educators, and 
Smoke- Free Arizona Program Specialists do not perform plan review for 
outdoor patios; however, they can ensure that proprietors understand the 
requirements of the outdoor patio exemption. The Outdoor Patio Advisory 
Form is still a great way to inform proprietors that the advisory visit does 
not indicate compliance with any other code, law, or regulation that may be 
required - federal, state, or local, and that it does not constitute endorsement 
or acceptance of the current or proposed patio.

Over past years, both the Advisory Form and the Outdoor Patio Advisory Form 
have proven to be useful tools. These two forms serve as documentation for 
the advisory visits and as a tracking method used to account for educational 
activities conducted. For this reason, the ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program 
has shared the forms with the county health departments and encouraged 
their use. Several county health departments have updated the Advisory 
Form with their contact information and utilize this form as a tool to document 
onsite-visits.

2.5
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ANNUAL TRAINING
To attain consistent implementation of the Act statewide, training is given 
by ADHS to each county health department. The annual training provides an 
opportunity for all existing and new inspectors to receive uniform training 
to ensure all inspectors are implementing the Smoke-Free Arizona Act 
consistently throughout the State. The annual training gives inspectors a 
chance to receive a refresher on the various items concerning the Act. The 
annual training gives inspectors and health educators a chance to receive a 
refresher on the requirements of the Smoke-Free Arizona rules and statute, 
and ensure uniform education, compliance assistance and enforcement of the 
Smoke-free Arizona Act statewide.

On September 2, 2015, the Smoke-Free Arizona program at ADHS provided an 
interactive training module to the county health departments and included a 
new PowerPoint design that was more visual with relevant images and covered 
the more difficult areas of the Act. Using adobe software, the new designed 
PowerPoint gave viewers a much more stimulating presentation experience. 
Due to travel restrictions throughout the state, it was determined that counties 
unable to attend in person would have the option to utilize iLinc software 
and participate from their respective locations. Forty-four attendees from 
throughout the state partook in the training either in person or via location. 
Participants also received 4 hours of continued education credits.

During the training, active participation was encouraged to enhance the 
learning experience. Each county was given a thorough resource guide, 
which could be utilized to help train to present new employees as well as 
more seasoned staff that might require periodic refreshers. The “Resource 
Guide” included such items such as the rules and statutes, standard operating 
procedures and how-to guides.  

2.6
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3.0
3.1

OUTREACH
REACHING OUT TO PUBLIC PLACES AND PLACES OF 
EMPLOYMENT
Arizona county health departments conduct consultations and on-site visits 
at local businesses, bars, and restaurants and provide education to ensure 
continued compliance with the Smoke-Free Arizona Act.

Between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016, a total of 24,833 educational visits 
and consultations were conducted.

Between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016, the ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona 
Program Specialists as well as county health educators and county 
environmental health specialists conducted educational presentations to 
large employers and community partners such as Head Start programs, dental 
offices, health centers, juvenile detention centers, boarding schools, colleges, 
city housing department, family help centers, disease management groups, 
and community coalitions. All combined, an estimated 5,509 people attended 
these educational presentations.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program and county health educators used health 
fairs as an effective forum to provide education to the public regarding the 
requirements of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Some of the wellness fairs and 
events attended by program specialists and health educators included, health 
festivals, a professional environmental association conference, a conference 
hosted by the Parks and Recreation association, public safety days from the 
AZ Department of Public Safety, car dealerships, and universities.

COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT ASSESSMENTS
In 2012, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program commenced a new venture with 
the each of the State’s county health departments by conducting on-site 
assessments. The assessment visits, which will occur every two calendar 
years, are intended to provide the counties with a platform to showcase their 
educational and outreach efforts, share experiences, highlight strengths, 
discuss difficult inspections, seek guidance, and detail their enforcement 
practices. As a result, the assessments not only give the Smoke-Free Arizona 
Program an opportunity to become more familiar with how the counties 
operate their programs, but to also improve communication between partners 
and provide feedback and resources that were geared toward creating Smoke-
Free programs that are more consistent statewide.

The 2016 county health department assessments began in March and will 
continue throughout the remainder of the year. All county health departments 
will be visited on this collaborative effort. The assessments have allowed the 
county health departments and the Smoke-Free Arizona Program to complete 
joint inspections at local businesses to provide education and compliance with 
the Act. These joint inspections have proven to be invaluable opportunities 
for training, and to provide education to proprietors, business owners and 
community partners. As the Smoke-Free Arizona Program moves forward, 
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these assessments will only continue to prove valuable in ensuring the health 
of Arizonans.

HEALTH FAIRS
The Smoke-Free Arizona Program actively participates in forums that can 
reach the community on a one-to-one basis, such as health fairs. The Smoke-
Free Arizona Program partners with the Wellness Council of Arizona to 
outreach to large employers and distribute information at wellness health fairs.  
This year, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program attended an employee health 
fair hosted by Toyota Earnhardt, Lexus Earnhardt, Ford Earnhardt, Honda 
Earnhardt, Dodge Earnhardt, the Safety Awareness Week at Grand Canyon 
University, and the Highway Patrol Public Safety Health Fair at the State Fair 
Grounds. The Program also attended a health fair at Stanfield Elementary 
School, the Environmental Health Association Conference, the Phoenix 
Summit Challenge, and the Solar Celebration, and questions were answered 
and information about the Act was distributed to approximately 1,157 
attendees.
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REACHING OUT TO THE COMMUNITY: SUCCESS 
STORIES
GRAHAM COUNTY:  PRESENT IN THE COMMUNITY
The Graham County Health Department promoted the Smoke-Free Arizona 
Act at the Gila Valley Health & Science Festival held at Eastern Arizona College 
on February 26-27, 2016.

Approximately 1,500 people attended the event at the Eastern Arizona College 
in Thatcher, AZ. Smoke-Free Arizona brochures were offered and signs were 
available. This annual event has been consistently successful in attracting the 
public to receive free health-related services and information. 

SANTA CRUZ COUNTY:  WORKING TOWARDS 
COMPLIANCE THROUGH PARTNERSHIPS AND 
EDUCATIONAL OUTREACH EFFORTS
ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program has remained successful in reaching out 
to businesses located in Santa Cruz County despite challenges caused by the 
distance between the ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program and the Santa Cruz 
County communities. A continuing partnership with the Nogales Chamber of 
Commerce is an effective channel used to stay in touch with business owners. 
The Chamber of Commerce provides Smoke-Free Arizona “No Smoking” signs 
and educational brochures to the community of Nogales and to business 
proprietors. In April 2016, the Nogales Chamber of Commerce contacted the 
Smoke-Free Arizona Program to order additional “No Smoking” signs. The 
Chamber will distribute these signs to any new or existing members in need of 
a required sign.

3.2
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As previously mentioned, Smoke-Free Arizona staff provide compliance 
assistance and education to businesses and proprietors throughout the 
State. This year, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program completed an outreach 
effort by visiting local business and following up with the mailing of signs 
and educational materials. A total of 25 businesses that were found in non-
compliance with the Act received a letter with information about the Act, a 
brochure, and a required “No Smoking” sign. Proprietors were encouraged to 
order additional “No Smoking” signage if necessary. The Smoke-Free Arizona 
Program hopes to see increased compliance in Santa Cruz County as a result 
of successful outreach efforts.

YAVAPAI COUNTY: CHANGE THROUGH POLICY
The Yavapai County Community Health Services Smoke-Free Arizona Program 
has had a successful year building relationships within the community and 
sustaining community partnerships previously fostered. Yavapai County’s 
Smoke-Free Arizona Program recently assisted an area college with plans to 
implement a campus-wide smoke-free policy. Yavapai College representatives 
have considered the decision to go smoke-free for some time and, with the 
support received from Yavapai County’s Smoke-Free Arizona Program, are 
taking steps to make such a transition in the future. This collaboration will align 
with the increasing trend in smoke-free policies being executed nationwide, 
protecting non-smokers from the health hazards of second-hand smoke.

Many factors influence policy change, and to show support of the efforts being 
taken countywide, Yavapai County’s Smoke-Free Arizona Program participates 
in discussions regarding smoke-free interests. Yavapai County met with 
county officials, community advocates, and members of the community to 
discuss topics such as policies to prohibit smoking in city parks and park 
systems, multi-unit residence smoking regulations, and regulations regarding 
the sales age of tobacco products.  As a result of the program’s involvement 
and education efforts in the community, there has been a reduction in the 
number of complaints received throughout the reporting year.

YUMA COUNTY:  SUCCESSFUL COLLABORATIONS
During the reporting year, Yuma County’s Smoke-Free Arizona Program was 
successful in upholding its function as a community resource from which 
business owners and proprietors can receive information and assistance in 
complying with the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. The education and compliance 
efforts completed by the Yuma County Smoke-Free Arizona Program/Tobacco 
Use Prevention Program have proven effective as reflected by a sharp 
reduction in the number of complaints received for two consecutive years. The 
Smoke-Free Arizona Program Health Educator has worked diligently to ensure 
this by providing education about the Smoke-Free Arizona Act and explaining 
the benefits of smoke-free environments. Additionally, the Tobacco Use 
Prevention Program and the Environmental Health Services Division have been 
able to sustain an essential partnership to further ensure compliance with the 
Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Yuma County’s Environmental Health Inspectors 
play an important role in verifying compliance by providing education about 
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the Smoke-Free Arizona Act during routine food safety and environmental 
health inspections, and including Smoke-Free Arizona violations on inspection 
checklists to monitor compliance. As a result of the continuous collaborative 
success of the Yuma County Smoke-Free Arizona Program and its partners, 
this strategy will continue to be a vital part of education and compliance of the 
Smoke-Free Arizona Act in Yuma County.

MARICOPA COUNTY GOES TOBACCO-FREE
Maricopa County government went 100 percent tobacco-free on March 
16, 2016. This means no cigarettes, cigars, pipes, electronic cigarettes, or 
smokeless tobacco on all Maricopa County-owned properties. The idea 
behind the tobacco-free policy has been promoted for years and is now being 
officially implemented. Extensive research supports the need to limit exposure 
to secondhand smoke and in the welfare of Maricopa County employees the 
decision was made to promote an entirely tobacco-free environment. After the 
first of the year, you will start to see new signs on county buildings regarding 
our tobacco free properties.

Tobacco use is the leading cause of preventable illness and death in the United 
States. It causes many different cancers as well as chronic lung diseases such 
as emphysema and bronchitis, heart disease, pregnancy-related problems, 
and many other serious health problems. 
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EDUCATIONAL NEWSLETTER
In a continued effort to disseminate information about the Act, two new 
Smoke-Free Arizona newsletters were created and distributed to citizens 
and businesses of Arizona during the last year. The second issue of the sixth 
volume of the newsletter was designed with the intent of educating the public 
and business proprietors about how the Act applies to business vehicles. This 
newsletter was distributed electronically to approximately 10,800 business 
proprietors and was received by 9,584 contacts. The first issue of the seventh 
volume of the newsletter highlights what is considered a Veteran and Fraternal 
Club and it answers some of the most frequently asked questions regarding 
these establishments. This newsletter was sent to approximately 10,794 
recipients via email and was received by 10,069 contacts.

The two Smoke-Free Arizona newsletters were distributed electronically to 
a collective approximate total of 19,653 business proprietors throughout 
Arizona. The distribution of the Smoke-Free Arizona newsletter is a successful 
and cost efficient educational outreach effort.

The images below are copies of the Smoke-Free Arizona newsletters.

3.3
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WORKING WITH SMOKE-FREE ARIZONA PARTNERS
One of the most important and constant partnerships the Smoke-Free Arizona 
Program has is with the county health departments and other community 
partners such as the Arizona Attorney General’s Office, the Hot Spot Liquor 
Taskforce, Department of Liquor and the Wellness Council of Arizona to name 
a few.

Through delegation agreements, county health departments play a major 
role in providing education, compliance assistance, and in some instances 
enforcement of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Every year, the Smoke-Free 
Arizona Program offers county assessments or trainings to provide standard 
and consistent information to county health educators and county health 
inspectors. As technology advances, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program is 
always looking for new ways to provide continuing education to county health 
educators and county health inspectors. In previous years, the Smoke-Free 
Arizona Program has provided trainings offered as a YouTube video, county 
site visits and numerous PowerPoint presentations.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program strives for consistent program education, 
compliance, and enforcement throughout the State. The trainings have been 
used recurrently by county health departments as the primary training for new 
staff and as a refresher for existing staff.

3.4
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COMPLIANCE
VERIFYING COMPLIANCE THROUGH COMPLAINT 
RESPONSE AND ROUTINE INSPECTIONS
Compliance with the Smoke-Free Arizona Act is continuing to increase 
throughout the State. Compliance is monitored through complaint response 
inspections at enclosed public places and places of employment.

Additionally, compliance is verified during routine food safety inspections 
conducted at foodservice establishments, such as bars and restaurants.

During the ninth year of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, business proprietors 
have continued to go above and beyond the requirements of the Smoke-Free 
Arizona Act. In addition to making the necessary changes to comply with the 
Act, such as posting the required “No Smoking” signs and moving ashtrays, 
proprietors continue to build outdoor patios, provide designated smoking 
areas, and establish in-house smoking policies that are more strict than the 
Act to accommodate their employees and customers.

COMPLAINT INVESTIGATIONS
Complaints alleging violations of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act are 
investigated by the individual county’s health department in fourteen of 
the fifteen counties. For Santa Cruz County, Arizona Department of Health 
representatives from the Smoke-Free Arizona Program conduct the complaint 
investigations (See Map 1.2). Once a complaint is received and it is determined 
that the allegations are valid violations of the Act, an unannounced inspection 
will take place and/or the business proprietor is notified within 15 days of 
the complaint. When necessary, Smoke-Free Arizona Specialists go in pairs 
to perform inspections, for example, during night inspections and for cases 
where the evidence may be difficult to find. If a violation of the Act is observed 
during an inspection, the proprietor is requested to correct the violation at 
the time of the inspection. If the violation is not corrected at that time, a re-
inspection will take place to verify that a corrective action has been made. Re-
inspections have shown to be an effective approach in achieving compliance.

A very effective approach while conducting complaint investigations is to 
conduct a joint inspection. Occasionally, the county health departments 
request assistance during difficult inspections. The inspection might 
involve indoor smoking. When confronted with the evidence of violations, 
some proprietors can be inflexible to the request to perform the necessary 
corrective actions as soon as possible. The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona 
Program takes this opportunity to partner with the county health departments 
to approach challenging situations or proprietors and to help these businesses 
come into compliance with the Act through joint inspections. From May 1, 
2015 to April 30, 2016, ADHS Smoke- Free Arizona Program conducted 8 joint 
inspections with county health departments.

Complainants may follow-up on their complaints by calling the ADHS 
Smoke-Free Arizona Program or their county health department. Complaint 
investigation findings are entered into a database that can be accessed by 
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COMPLAINT NUMBERS STABILIZE WITH INCREASED 
COMPLIANCE THROUGHOUT ARIZONA
The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program continues to encourage members of 
the public to report violations of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Complaints can 
be filed by one of the following:
• Filling out an online complaint form at www.smokefreearizona.org;
• Calling the toll-free Smoke-Free Arizona hotline at 1-877-4-AZ-NOSMOKE 

(1-877-429-6676);
• Sending an e-mail to nosmokingarizona@azdhs.gov; or
• Capturing and sending a complaint using the mysmokefreeaz App 

available for smartphones.

During the ninth year after the Act went into effect, between May 1, 2015 and 
April 30, 2016, a total of 1,425 complaints alleging violations of the Smoke- 
Free Arizona Act were filed statewide. The numbers of complaints filed this 
year resulted in an  increase when compared to last year’s total of 1,278 
complaints and the previous year’s total of 1,295 complaints filed statewide.

Overall, the complaint trend during the last three years has been consistent. 
Most of the complaints were regarding people smoking outside within twenty 
feet of an entrance and the presence of ashtrays located outside within twenty 
feet of an entrance.

The graph below illustrates the number of complaints filed monthly statewide 
between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016.

Total Complaints Filed Statewide 
from May 1, 2015 to April 30, 2016 
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GRAPH 4.1

Smoke-Free Arizona Program officials only. Complaints can be located with a 
complaint identification number that is issued when a complaint is filed, the 
complainants’ last name (if provided), the business name, address, or cross 
streets.
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The counties that received the highest number of complaints are: Maricopa 
(75%), Yavapai (10%),  Pima (7%), Mohave (2%),  and Coconino (1.5%). Of the 
1,425  complaints received, 1,363  complaints (96%) reporting violations of the 
Act were located in these five counties.

The top five counties that received the highest percentage of complaints 
between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016 are shown in the map below.

Top Five Counties with the 
Highest Percentage of   

Complaints between May 1, 
2015 and April 30, 2016

The number of complaints received for each county between May 1, 2015 and 
April 30, 2016 is shown in the map below. 

Number of Complaints for Each 
County between May 1, 2015 

and April 30, 2016 
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With the exception of year 1, May 1, 2007 – April 30, 2008, which showed 4,803 
complaints filed, yearly complaint numbers have been consistent since May 
1, 2008, averaging 1,486 complaints per year. Efforts to educate business 
owners and to incorporate compliance checks into routine food safety 
inspections continue to result in maintaining a steady number of complaints 
and thus continuing to achieve compliance statewide.

The graph below illustrates the comparison between the number of complaints 
received monthly since May 1, 2007.

Comparison of Complaints Filed 
Statewide between May 1, 2007 

and April 30, 2016 
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ENFORCEMENT
INITIATING LEGAL PROCEDURES
Nine of the fifteen Arizona county health departments have the delegated 
authority to enforce the provisions of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act.

These include Apache, Coconino, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, 
Pima, and Yuma Counties. The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program is 
responsible for enforcement in the remaining six counties, including Cochise, 
Gila, Maricopa, Pinal, Santa Cruz, and Yavapai (See Map 1.2).

If a proprietor of an establishment does not correct violations as requested, 
demonstrates willful violations, or a pattern of noncompliance with the Act, he 
or she is subject to enforcement action and may receive a Notice of Violation 
(“NOV”) or an assessment of civil penalty fines between $100 and $500 for 
each violation. If injunctive relief is requested, the Superior Court may impose 
appropriate injunctive relief and civil penalty fines up to $5,000 per violation.

ACHIEVING COMPLIANCE THROUGH LEGAL 
PROCEEDINGS
Enforcement actions take place when educational efforts fail to result in 
compliance with the Smoke-Free Arizona Act in a timely manner. The ADHS 
Smoke-Free Arizona Program has had tremendous support from the Education 
and Health Section attorneys from the Office of the Arizona Attorney General 
and from the Office of Administrative Counsel and Rules at ADHS. This 
support, combined with an effective enforcement protocol, allows ADHS to 
better serve the county health departments when cases are referred to the 
ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program for enforcement.

Notices of Violation (NOV) are issued in response to a pattern of 
noncompliance or willful violations of the Law. An NOV details violations 
that have been observed and documented during complaint investigations. 
A total of two NOVs were issued statewide between May 1, 2015 and April 
30, 2016, both of which were issued by the Coconino County Public Health 
Services District. One NOV was issued to a proprietor that was permitting 
smoking inside the establishment. Evidence of smoking was found inside 
by the inspector and an NOV was issued. The second NOV was issued to a 
proprietor who was smoking, as well as allowing his employees to smoke, 
inside the place of employment. The inspector witnessed the active smoking 
as he entered this place of employment. As a result of education provided 
by the Coconino County Smoke-Free Arizona Program, the proprietors that 
were issued these NOVs corrected violations observed and did not face any 
civil money penalties. Re-inspections were conducted at both businesses to 
ensure smoking was no longer taking place inside the establishments. One of 
the NOVs was issued to a proprietor of a retail food establishment, such as a 
bar, restaurant, or gas station convenience store. The other NOV was issued to 
a proprietor of a place of employment that was also visited by patrons.

5.2
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Previous annual reports indicated that settlement agreements had been 
met which included a lesser fine; however, the remainder of the original fine 
was deferred, as long as the business was not found in violation of the Act at 
any time in the future. Should a business be found in violation after signing a 
settlement agreement, the deferred amount must be paid and additional fines 
may be assessed. Between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016, ADHS did not 
hold any enforcement proceedings, therefore, did not reach any settlement 
agreements. In addition, there were no administrative hearings held. Two 
NOVs issued by ADHS in the previous year, are still awaiting resolution and 
are referred to the Attorney General’s office for collection. No new cases were 
brought before the Superior Court for injunctive relief this year.

PROTECTING THE HEALTH OF ARIZONANS
STATE OF TOBACCO CONTROL REPORT CARD: 
SMOKE-FREE ARIZONA SCORES A GRADE A
The American Lung Association State of Tobacco Control report tracks 
progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal level and 
assigns grades to tobacco control laws and regulations enacted based on 
recognized criteria for effective tobacco control measures. The grading 
criteria were developed by an advisory committee assembled by the National 
Cancer Institute. This grading system provides scoring in nine main categories: 
Government Workplaces, Private Workplaces, Schools, Child Care Facilities, 
Restaurants, Retail Stores, Recreational/Cultural Facilities, Penalties and 
Enforcement.

The grade for each state is based on a total of all points received in all 
categories. A grade of “A” is assigned for excellent tobacco control policies 
while an “F” indicates inadequate policies. This year, once again and for the 
eighth consecutive year, Arizona was one of 24 states to earn a grade A in 
The American Lung Association State of Tobacco Control 2016 Report, for 
maintaining a strong and comprehensive enforcement program of the Smoke-
Free Arizona Act.

The American Lung Association works diligently with organizations, state 
departments, and legislators to address tobacco control issues since tobacco 
use remains the leading cause of preventable disease and death in the United 
States. To address this enormous issue, the American Lung Association and 
its partners have committed to three bold goals: 1. Reduce smoking rates, 
currently at about 18 percent, to less than 10 percent by 2024; 2. Protect all 
Americans from secondhand smoke by 2019; and 3. Ultimately eliminate the 
death and disease caused by tobacco use. The local chapter of the American 
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Lung Association recognizes that these goals can only be accomplished in 
Arizona by:

1. Supporting legislation to create a registry of statewide tobacco retailers;
2. Increasing Arizona’s cigarette and tobacco taxes; and by
3. Protecting Arizonans from tobacco industry supported legislation.
4. The American Heart Association, the American Cancer Society and 

the American Lung Association are also combining forces to redefine 
e-cigarettes as tobacco products and to create a tobacco retailer registry 
that would ultimately help researchers understand who is selling tobacco 
products in the state of Arizona.

The ADHS continues to work in partnership with the American Lung 
Association in Arizona to make sure that the Law is appropriately enforced 
throughout the state. This year the Arizona Smoke-free Living coalition, a 
program of the American Lung Association in Arizona, made great strides 
toward achieving its mission to empower Arizona communities to live 
smokefree. Outreach efforts to connect with and inform multi-family property 
managers and owners about the advantages of adopting smokefree policies 
yielded strong results. As of September 2015, one hundred properties 
representing over 7,200 units in apartment communities in Arizona were 
smokefree or in the process of adopting smokefree policies.
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EMPOWER PACK
Over the years, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program has partnered with the ADHS 
Bureau of Nutrition and Physical Activity to provide educational materials for 
the Empower Pack Program. The Empower Pack Program is a nutrition and 
tobacco-free program that childcare centers may choose to participate in to 
receive discounted state licensing fees, with the agreement that centers will 
adopt more healthy habits by implementing program standards.

Empower Centers teach children how to live healthy lives by using the 
following ten curriculum requirements:

1. Facilities should encourage physical activities as part of their curriculum 
by scheduling at least 60 minutes of planned activity (which can be 
broken up in shorter time periods) per day. Encourage “sun safe” physical 
activities.

2. Limit kids’ screen time to under one hour a day.
3. Avoid more than 60 minutes of sedentary activity at a time, except while 

the child is sleeping.
4. Offer water at least 4 times during the day.
5. Serve 1% low fat or fat free milk for all children over two years of age.
6. Serve only 100% percent fruit juice (with no added sugars), and limit kids 

to 4 ounces per day.
7. Serve meals family style and let the child decide how much to eat. Avoid 

rewarding good behavior or a clean plate with foods of any kind.
8. If able, participate in the USDA Child and Adult Care Food Program.
9. Facilities and homes should be totally (24-hour) smoke-free campuses.

10. All families should receive education and referrals regarding tobacco 
prevention cessation and second hand smoke at least four times per year.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program provided one “No Smoking” 4 x 6 sticker 
sign per Empower Pack kit. This year 600 signs were provided and 100 of each 
of the English General brochures were provided for the Empower Pack kits. A 
link to the Smoke-Free Arizona website, www. smokefreearizona.org can also 
be found on the Empower Pack website as a resource for Empower Centers to 
utilize.

6.2
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FDA’S EXPANDED DEFINITION OF TOBACCO 
PRODUCTS TO INCLUDE  E-CIGARETTES AND OTHER 
NICOTINE DELIVERY SYSTEMS
Tobacco use among minors in the United States is a nationwide epidemic. 
To protect consumers and further improve public health, the Food and 
Drug Administration (FDA) recently announced news of a rule extending its 
regulatory power of tobacco products. Prior to this announcement, the FDA’s 
definition of a tobacco product only included cigarettes, cigarette tobacco, 
roll-your-own tobacco, and smokeless tobacco. The definition has now been 
expanded to include electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes), pipe tobacco, nicotine 
gels, hookahs, vaporizers, and all other electronic nicotine delivery systems 
(ENDS). The new rule, first proposed in 2014, is an amendment to the 2009 
Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (Tobacco Control Act), 
which gave FDA authority to regulate the manufacture, packaging, advertising, 
sale and distribution of tobacco products. The rule – Deeming Tobacco 
Products to Be Subject to the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act – will go 
into effect on August 8, 2016, and will cover all products meeting the definition 
of a tobacco product. Manufacturers will be required to submit applications 
to market their new products, display warning statements on packaging, 
provide a listing of ingredients of their products, and comply with statutory 
requirements. 

While electronic nicotine delivery systems are fairly new products of the 
tobacco marketplace, their use has been on the rise since their introduction 
in 2007, especially among minors. In 2015, approximately 3 million students 
reported use of e-cigarettes, with nearly 80 percent of them citing appealing 
flavors as their reason for use. Reports of e-cigarette poisonings have also 
been on the rise in young children, mostly from swallowing liquid nicotine. 
Although many states, like Arizona, had taken steps to regulate the sale of 
e-cigarettes and other ENDS to minors, there was no federal law in place. 
In order to fully comprehend the dangers and potential health risks of 
e-cigarettes and other ENDS, the FDA conducted research with focus groups 
and subject matter experts preceding the announcement.

With the expansion of the FDA’s regulatory authority, the sale of cigars, 
hookahs, pipe tobacco, and e-cigarettes to anyone under the age of 18 will 
be prohibited. Free samples of tobacco products, online sales of tobacco 
products to minors, and the sale of e-cigarettes in vending machines are 
also components of the rule that will be banned. The FDA’s Center for Drug 
Evaluation and Research will continue to oversee the regulation of ENDS sold 
for therapeutic purposes. The new regulations will help to prevent tobacco 
manufacturers from making misleading claims about their products and allow 
the FDA to reduce youth access to tobacco products. This declaration has 
been long-awaited and is an important step in protecting future generations 
and improving the health of United States citizens.
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CONCLUSION
The ninth year of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act saw a continuous number of 
inquiries from Arizona citizens and a continued stabilization although with 
a slight increase in the number of complaints filed by concerned citizens. 
Partnerships with county health educators and county environmental health 
inspectors provided education and timely complaint assistance to citizens and 
business owners throughout their communities.

Providing awareness of the Act results in higher levels of compliance. This was 
achieved in multiple ways including but not limited to educational outreach, 
compliance assistance during complaint inspections, advisory visits, health 
fairs, conferences and the media. For the ninth consecutive year the American 
Lung Association State of Tobacco Control report card awarded an “A” to 
the Smoke- Free Arizona Program recognizing the success the program has 
achieved by using the methods previously mentioned.

The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program continues to encourage members of 
the public to report violations of the Act by filling out a complaint form online, 
by calling the toll-free complaint line, by sending an email, or filing a complaint 
through a smartphone application. A total number of 1,425 complaints were 
filed between May 1, 2015 and April 30, 2016. Most of the complaints, as in 
years past, were regarding people smoking outside, but within 20 feet of an 
entrance, and the presence of an ashtray outside within 20 feet of an entrance.  
Compared to the total number of complaints, only a minimal number of 
complaints resulted in legal proceedings. Enforcement took place only when 
educational efforts did not result in timely compliance.

We are pleased to report that the ninth year of implementation of the Smoke- 
Free Arizona Act has continued to provide cleaner air for the citizens of Arizona 
demonstrating “It’s a Benefit, Not a Ban.”
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