y/\;lz na |8

K 4 / - N ~
) 7 [
et -
f r




Janice K. Brewer, Governor
State of Arizona

Will Humble
Director, Arizona Department of Health Services

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERVICES
Bureau of Epidemiology and Disease Control

Office of Environmental Health
Smoke-Free Arizona Program
150 N. 18™ Avenue, Suite 130
Phoenix, Arizona 85007-3245

(602) 364-3122

This publication can be made available in alternative format.
Please contact the number listed above.

Permission to quote from or reproduce materials from this publication
is granted when due acknowledgment is made.

“Equal Opportunity/Reasonable Accommodation Employer”



1.0

2.0

3.0

4.0

5.0

6.0

Table of Contents
Annual Report 2014
“It’s a Benefit, Not a Ban”

Executive Summary 1
Smoke-Free Arizona Program 2
1.1 Background 2
1.2 Roles and Responsibilities of ADHS 3
1.3 Roles and Responsibilities of the County Health Departments 4
1.3.1  Education and Compliance 4
1.4 Amount and Source of Program Funding 8
Education 10
2.1 Enhancing the Website: www.smokefreearizona.org 10
2.2 Answering the Information Hotline: 1-877-AZ-STOPS (1-877-297-8677) 11
2.3 Maintaining the Email Addresses: 14
2.4 “No Smoking” Signs 15
2.5 Advisory Visits 16
Outreach 17
3.1 Reaching Out to Public Places and Places of Employment 17
3.2 Reaching Out to the Community: Success Stories 19
3.1 Educational Newsletter 22
3.2 Working with Smoke-Free Arizona Partners 23
Compliance 24
4.1 Verifying Compliance through Complaint Response and Routine Inspections 24
4.2 Complaint Investigation 24
4.3 Complaint Numbers Stabilize With Increased Compliance throughout Arizona 26
Enforcement 29
5.1 Initiating Legal Procedures 29
5.2 Achieving Compliance through Legal Proceedings 29
Protecting Arizonans Health 31
6.1 State of Tobacco Control Report Card: Smoke-Free Arizona Scores a Grade A 31
6.2 Empower Pack 32
6.3 Surgeon General’s Report: The Health Consequences of Smoking — 50 Years of Progress 33
Conclusion 34

7.0




SMOKE
@ Smoke-Free Arizona Annual Report — 2014

Executive Summary

On November 7, 2006, Arizona voters approved Proposition 201, the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, A.R.S. 8§
36-601.01 (the Act or the Law). The Law went into effect on May 1, 2007, prohibiting smoking inside
and within 20 feet of entrances, open windows, and ventilation systems of most enclosed public places
and places of employment, with a few exemptions.

While the Act prohibits smoking inside most enclosed public places and places of employment in
Arizona, smoking is allowed in establishments that meet specific exemption criteria. There are seven
exemptions, including private residences, designated smoking rooms in hotels and motels, retail tobacco
stores, Veterans and fraternal clubs, smoking when associated with a religious ceremony pursuant to the
American Indian Religious Freedom Act of 1978, outdoor patios, and theatrical performances upon a
stage or in the course of a film or television production.

Also included in Proposition 201, was the imposition of a two-cent tax per pack of cigarettes to be
deposited into the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund, which must be used to enforce the provisions of the Law.
If a proprietor of an establishment does not correct violations as requested, demonstrates willful
violations, or exhibits a pattern of noncompliance with the Act, (s)he is subject to enforcement action.
The proprietor may receive a Notice of Violation (NOV) or an assessment of civil penalty fines between
$100 and $500 for each violation. If injunctive relief is requested, the Superior Court may impose
appropriate injunctive relief and civil penalty fines up to $5,000 per violation.

The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) and all but one of Arizona’s counties work through
delegation agreements, to ensure that Arizonans are protected from secondhand smoke exposure in most
enclosed public places and places of employment. The county health departments conduct consultations
and on-site visits at public places and places of employment, including but not limited to, local
businesses, bars, and restaurants to provide education and to ensure continued compliance with the
Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, a total of 20,202 educational visits,
consultations, and on-site visits were conducted. Many business proprietors have made steps to go above
and beyond the requirements of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. In addition to making the necessary
changes to comply with the Act, such as posting the required “No Smoking” signs and moving ashtrays,
proprietors have also continued to build outdoor patios, provide designated smoking areas, and establish
in-house policies that are more strict than the Act to accommaodate their employees and customers.

During the seventh year after the Law went into effect, between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, a total
of 1,295 complaints alleging violations of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act were filed statewide. Most of the
complaints were regarding people smoking outside within twenty feet of an entrance and the presence of
ashtrays located outside within twenty feet of an entrance.

A total of five NOVs were issued statewide between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, one of which was
issued by the ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program. There were no civil penalty fines issued for the four
NOVs filed by county health departments. The proprietor who received the NOV issued by ADHS faced
a total of $2,400 in civil penalty fines. These NOVs were issued to proprietors that permitted employees,
customers, or visitors to smoke inside enclosed public places and places of employment. No new cases
were brought before the Superior Court for injunctive relief this year.

In 2014, Arizona earned an “A” grade on the American Lung Association State of Tobacco Control
Report for maintaining a strong and comprehensive enforcement program of the Smoke-Free Arizona
Act. For the seventh year in a row, the report has awarded a grade “A,” recognizing the continued
success of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act.
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1.0 Smoke-Free Arizona Program

11 Background

by a smoker and the smoke generated by the burning end of a

cigarette (or other tobacco product). Secondhand smoke is a

mixture of 4,000 chemical compounds that are released into the air
as gases and particles. Of these 4,000 compounds, 69 have been
identified as carcinogens or cancer-causing agents, 11 of which have
been specifically identified as human carcinogens.

Secondhand smoke is defined as the combination of smoke exhaled

Exposure to secondhand smoke is a health concern for people of all ages.
In 1992, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) officially
listed secondhand smoke as a Class A carcinogen. In 2006, the U.S.
Surgeon General’s report stated that there is no risk-free level of
exposure to secondhand smoke. Breathing even a little secondhand
smoke can be harmful to your health.

In November of 2006, Arizona voters made their voices heard by passing
the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, A.R.S. 8 36-601.01 (“the Act” or “the
Law™). The Act protects all Arizonans from the harmful effects of
secondhand smoke exposure in most enclosed public places and places of
employment and within 20 feet of entrances, open windows, and
ventilation systems. Also included in the Act, is a two-cent tax per pack
of cigarettes to be deposited in the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund, which
must be used to enforce the provisions of the Law. The Act went into
effect on May 1, 2007.

The Act prohibits smoking inside enclosed public places and places of

employment with a few exemptions:

1) Private residences, except when used as a licensed child care, adult
day care, or health care facility;

2) Hotel and motel rooms that are rented to guests and are designated as
smoking rooms; provided however that not more than fifty percent of
rooms rented to guests in a hotel or motel are so designated,;

3) Retail tobacco stores that are physically separated so that smoke
from retail tobacco stores does not infiltrate into areas where
smoking is prohibited under the provisions of this section;

4) Veterans and fraternal clubs when they are not open to the general
public;

5) Smoking when associated with a religious ceremony practiced
pursuant to the American Indian Religious Freedom Act of 1978;

6) Outdoor patios so long as tobacco smoke does not enter areas where
smoking is prohibited through entrances, windows, ventilation
systems, or other means; and

7) A theatrical performance upon a stage or in the course of a film or
television production.
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For each exemption to the Act, there are specific requirements that must
be met to qualify. These criteria are defined in the Act and in the
Arizona Administrative Code, Title 9, Chapter 2, Article 1.

Under the Act, the proprietor of a public place or a place of employment
is responsible for:
¢ Removing all indoor ashtrays and smoking receptacles and
moving all outdoors ashtrays and smoking receptacles at least 20
feet away of entrances;
e Posting the required “No Smoking” signs at every entrance into
the establishment;
o Educating all existing and prospective employees about the Act;
o Prohibiting anyone, such as employees, vendors, visitors, and
customers from smoking within 20 feet of all entrances, open
windows, and ventilation systems, and inside the establishment;
and
e Informing violators by politely requesting that they extinguish
their lit tobacco product or that they smoke outside at least 20
feet away from the entrance, open window, or ventilation
system.

If a proprietor of an establishment does not correct violations as
requested, or demonstrates willful violations or a pattern of
noncompliance with the Act, they are subject to enforcement action.
They may receive a Notice of Violation (“NOV”) or an assessment of
civil penalty fines between $100 and $500 for each violation. If
injunctive relief is requested, the Superior Court may impose appropriate
injunctive relief and civil penalty fines up to $5,000 per violation.

1.2 Roles and Responsibilities of ADHS

The provisions of the Act assign implementation and enforcement of the
Law to ADHS. In order to accomplish this, the Office of Environmental
Health, due to its extensive experience with education, inspections,
investigations, and enforcement, oversees the Smoke-Free Arizona
Program.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program is responsible for:

e Providing free signage to businesses;

e Maintaining the Smoke-Free Arizona website:
www.smokefreearizona.org;

e Answering inquiries coming via the information line:
1-877-AZSTOPS (1-877-297-8677), or from the
smokefreearizona@azdhs.gov mailbox;

e Taking complaints coming through the complaint line:
1-877-AAZNOSMOKE (1-877-429-6676), or from the
nosmokingarizona@azdhs.gov mailbox;

¢ Conducting on-site advisory visits;

¢ Maintaining a statewide database used by the county health
departments for complaint investigations and referrals;
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e Providing training to new and existing health educators and
environmental health inspectors;

e Providing educational materials to county health departments;

e Assisting county health departments during complaint investigations
or advisory visits by riding along with the health educators or the
environmental health inspectors;

e Providing guidance to the county health departments with regards to
education, compliance, and enforcement;

¢ Initiating enforcement procedures for cases referred by Cochise,
Gila, Maricopa, Pinal, Santa Cruz, and Yavapai counties; and

e Conducting education and compliance activities in Santa Cruz
County.

13 Roles and Responsibilities of the County Health Departments

1.3.1 Education and Compliance

ADHS and the county health departments work diligently to protect all
Arizonans from secondhand smoke exposure and to ensure uniform
compliance with the Law throughout the State. Delegation agreements
have been signed with all but one of the State’s fifteen counties to assist
ADHS with education and compliance assistance. Funding is provided
to these counties using money from the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund.

Depending on the infrastructure of the county health department,
education and compliance assistance are performed by either health
educators from their Tobacco Education and Prevention Program or by
environmental health inspectors from their Environmental Services
Division. The map below represents the lead program for each county:

Map 1.1 Lead Program Responsible for Education and Compliance
for Each County Health Department

' Tobacco Education and Prevention (TEP)

\ ' Environmental Services Division (ESD)

. Arizona Department of Health Services

. ESD and TEP
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Environmental Services Division

The Environmental Services Division is the lead program for education
and compliance in Cochise, Gila, Graham, Greenlee, Mohave, Navajo,
Pima, and Pinal counties. Environmental health inspectors verify
compliance and provide education about the Act during routine food
safety and environmental health inspections. Smoke-Free Arizona
violations have been included on inspection checklists to monitor
compliance with the Act. In addition, environmental health inspectors
carry “No Smoking” signs and educational brochures for distribution
during routine inspections and complaint investigations.

Tobacco Education and Prevention Program

The Tobacco Education and Prevention Program is responsible for
compliance and education in Apache, Coconino, La Paz, Maricopa,
Yavapai, and Yuma counties. Health educators have been actively
working with businesses in their communities by providing education
about the Smoke-Free Arizona Act and explaining the benefits of smoke-
free environments.

In the majority of these counties, a solid partnership exists between the
Tobacco Education and Prevention Program and the Environmental
Services Division. For example if an environmental health inspector
observes a smoking violation during a routine inspection in a food
establishment, he or she will notify the health educator about their
observation(s). The health educator will follow-up with the person in
charge of the food establishment to ensure compliance with the Law.

Apache County Dual Lead Programs — Environmental Services
Division & Tobacco Education and Prevention Program

Joining efforts of health educators from the
Tobacco Education and Prevention Program and
environmental health inspectors from the
Environmental Health Services Division is the key
to ensuring compliance in Apache County.

For establishments permitted under the Apache
County Health Code, such as restaurants, bars,
grocery stores, hotels/motels, and public
accommaodations, education and complaint
investigations are conducted by environmental
health inspectors. For non-permitted establishments such as retail stores,
repair shops, business offices, and shopping centers, education and
complaint investigations are conducted by health educators from the
Tobacco Education and Prevention Program.
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Maricopa County:

With a population of 4,009,412 Maricopa
County is by far Arizona's most populous
county, encompassing more than half of the
State's residents. Joining efforts with
Maricopa County Department of Public
Health is the key to ensuring compliance in
Maricopa County.

In previous years, education and complaint

investigations were conducted by
environmental health inspectors at establishments permitted under the
Maricopa County Health Code, such as restaurants, bars, grocery stores,
hotels/motels, and public accommodations. For non-permitted
establishments such as retail stores, repair shops, business offices, and
shopping centers, education and complaint investigations were conducted
by Maricopa County Department of Public Health. In July 2012, the
Maricopa County Department of Public Health took sole responsibility
for conducting education and compliance investigations at both permitted
and non-permitted establishments. Complaint statistics show the number
of complaints in Maricopa County was more than twice as high in non-
permitted establishments then in permitted establishments, causing the
shift in focus to non-permitted establishments that were handled by
Maricopa County Department of Public Health.

ADHS - Santa Cruz County

The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program is
responsible for education and compliance in
Santa Cruz County. This includes
investigating complaints, conducting on-site
inspections, and educating the community
about the Law and its requirements.
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Enforcement of the Law

Nine county health departments have the delegated authority for
enforcement activities such as issuing NOVs, assessing civil penalty
fines, attending administrative hearings, and seeking injunctive relief.

The map below illustrates who is responsible for enforcement in each
county.

Map 1.2 Enforcement Responsibilities for each County Health
Department

. Arizona Department of Health Services

\) Tobacco Education and Prevention (TEP)

The counties conducting their own enforcement activities are Apache,
Coconino, Graham, Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, Pima and Yuma.
For these counties, the delegation agreement delineates the enforcement
duties and additional funding is provided to support these duties.

For the remaining six counties, Cochise, Gila, Maricopa, Pinal, Santa
Cruz, and Yavapai, ADHS provides assistance for enforcement. This
means that once a pattern of noncompliance is documented, or there is
evidence of willful violation of the Act, the county health department
refers the case to ADHS for enforcement. The enforcement procedures
are explained in Section 5.0 of this report.
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14 Amount and Source of Program Funding

The Smoke-Free Arizona Act includes a two-cent tax that is imposed on
each pack of cigarettes purchased. The money collected from this tax is
deposited into the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund and used to enforce the
Act. Any money remaining in the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund, after
ADHS and its delegates have met enforcement obligations for the fiscal
year, is deposited into the Tobacco Products Tax Fund and used for
education programs to reduce and eliminate tobacco use.

The graph below shows the amount of money received monthly in the
Smoke-Free Arizona Fund from May 1, 2013 to April 30, 2014. The total
revenue for the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund from May 1, 2013 to April 30,
2014 was $2,389,496.81.

Graph 1.1 Smoke-Free Arizona Fund Monthly Tax Revenue from May 1, 2013 to

April 30, 2014
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The graph below shows the amount of money received quarterly in the
Smoke-Free Arizona Fund from May 1, 2007 to April 30, 2014.

Graph 1.2 Smoke-Free Arizona Fund Quarterly Tax Revenue from May 1, 2007 to

April 30, 2014
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2.0 Education

of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, we continue to make major
strides to improve the communication and educational
information about the Act that is disseminated to the public and
businesses of Arizona.

As we cross the threshold of the seventh year after implementation

2.1 Enhancing the Website: www.smokefreearizona.org

As the main channel of communication with the public, business owners,
and other partners throughout Arizona, the Smoke-Free Arizona website
is an essential part of the educational outreach of the Smoke-Free
Arizona (SFA) Program. The SFA website contains detailed information
about all the requirements of the Act and how these requirements apply
to different indoor and outdoor areas. Useful information explaining the
dangers of secondhand smoke, news archives, tips for compliance,
program updates, answering frequently asked questions about the Law,
and links to valuable resources are also available. In addition, users can
order free “No Smoking” signs, and report violations by either filling out
an easy online form or by downloading the mySmokeFreeAZ mobile
phone application.

The Smoke-Free Arizona website is continuously maintained by
updating or adding relevant information that can aid in reaching the
general public and assisting proprietors to comply with the Act. In
addition, the Smoke-Free Arizona Timeline provides an overview of
important milestones in the Smoke-Free Arizona Program history. The
Timeline also provides a quick insight into the types of activities and
responsibilities of the Smoke-Free Arizona Program.

To date, the most popular features of the website are still the sign order
page and the online reporting system. Since the Law went into effect,
business owners have been able to order required “No Smoking” signage
free of charge from the website. In addition, concerned citizens continue
to report violations of the Act by filing a complaint form online in three
easy steps. Allowing concerned citizens to file complaints alleging
violations of the Law is not only mandated by the Act, but it is also an
effective tool to aid in education and compliance assistance.

10
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The image below is a print screen of the recently updated Smoke-Free
Arizona Program website.
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2.2 Answering the Information Hotline: 1-877-AZ-STOPS (1-
877-297-8677)

As required by the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, ADHS provides a 24/7 toll-
free information line to answer inquiries from the general public and
business owners. During business hours, ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona
Program staff answers the calls. After business hours, live assistance is
provided by an answering service agency. The answering service agency
staff is trained to answer general questions about the Act, fulfill requests
for free signage, and document reports of violations. ADHS Smoke-Free
Arizona Program and the after hour answering service agency provides
live assistance to citizens, business owners and property management
specialists inquiring about the Smoke Free Arizona Act. An approximate
combined total of 1,408 calls were received between May 1, 2013 and
April 30, 2014.

11
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Over half of the calls received were inquiries about the Smoke-Free
Arizona Act, while the remaining calls were either requests for free
signage or from individuals reporting violations of the Act.

The graph below shows the number of calls received during and after
business hours.

Graph 2.1 Number of Calls Received by ADHS and by the After Hours Answering
Service between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014
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The pie chart below shows the categories of calls (by percentage)
received during business hours by ADHS.

Pie Chart 2.1 Percentage of Calls by Category Received by ADHS between May 1,
2013 and April 30, 2014

30%
Complaints

53%

Inquiries
17%

Orgalgrg

Of these calls, the top five types of inquiries received during business
hours were regarding:

1.
2.

3.
4.
5

Electronic cigarettes;

The reasonable distance from entrances where smoking is prohibited
(the “20 Foot Rule™);

Outdoor patios;

Smoking in multi-family housing; and

*“ Designated smoking areas”;

13
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The pie chart below illustrates the types of calls received and the most
frequent questions received.

Pie Chart 2.2 Percentage of Calls by Category Received by ADHS between May 1,
2013 and April 30, 2014 Including the Top Five Inquiries
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2.3 Maintaining the Email Addresses:
smokefreearizona@azdhs.gov and nosmokingarizona@azdhs.gov

The smokefreearizona@azdhs.gov email address is solely dedicated to
answering questions and providing information to the general public and
business owners about the requirements of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act.
The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program Specialists are responsible for
replying to all inquiries received in this email mailbox.

The nosmokingarizona@azdhs.gov email address is used to process
reports of violations. Occasionally this email mailbox will receive
general questions from citizens and business owners, which are answered
by an ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program Specialist.

14
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2.4 “No Smoking” Signs

The Smoke-Free Arizona Act requires that most enclosed public places
and places of employment in Arizona have a “No Smoking” sign posted
at every entrance. All entrances should have signs posted except for
doors leading to an outdoor patio and doors used as an emergency exit.
Signs should include all the required information and be clearly and
conspicuously posted. Business owners have the option to order “No
Smoking” signs free of charge from the Smoke-Free Arizona Program or
they may choose to create their own signs as long as the required
information is included.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program offers four unique 4 x 6 inch “No
Smoking” stickers with an adhesive on the back that easily attaches to
any surface. Last year, a larger, more conspicuous 4 x 12 inch sticker
was created. This sign is clearly visible, contains all the required
language and reporting information, and accentuates the 20 Foot Rule.
The larger 20 Foot Rule helps businesses communicate to their
employees and customers that smoking is prohibited inside and within 20
feet of entrances. The newest sign created is a 4 x 6 English sticker with
the 20 Foot Rule accentuated with a larger font. The 4 x 6 sticker is the
most popular sign because of its size and design, adhesive back, and its
ultraviolet (UV) coating on the front to protect the sign from fading in
the Arizona sun.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program provides the following types of signs:
e 3 x5 inch vehicle sticker
e 4 x6 inch English sticker (with or without the 20 Foot Rule
disclosure)
e 4 x6 inch Bilingual sticker (with or without the 20 Foot Rule
disclosure)
e 4 x 12 inch English sticker (with the 20 Foot Rule disclosure)

The image below is the newest 4 x 6 “No Smoking” sticker.

Thank You for Not Smoking

o)

No smoking inside or within
20 teet of this entrance.

To report a violation
SMOKE or file a complaint:
FREE smokefreearizona.org
1-877-4-AZNOSMOKE
1-877-429-6676

15
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A total of 1,003 sign orders were placed by businesses. In addition, signs
are distributed to businesses during complaint inspections, advisory
visits, educational visits, and routine inspections conducted by county
health educators and health inspectors. A total of 40,862 signs were
distributed statewide. The demand for free signs has remained steady
over the years. On average, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program has
distributed approximately 53,328 signs yearly in the last six years.

25 Advisory Visits

Smoke-Free Arizona Program staff provides compliance assistance to
proprietors by performing advisory visits at their public place or place of
employment. Upon request, county environmental health inspectors,
county health educators, and ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program
Specialists visit public places and places of employment to assist with
answering any questions that the proprietor may have about a specific
area of concern. In previous years, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program
created two advisory forms as a tool to document compliance efforts
during these educational visits and to provide information to business
proprietors. The standard Advisory Form not only documents the visit
and the establishment’s information, but it also includes a list of
requirements of the Act with which proprietors must comply.

Since most advisory visits are requested by proprietors that have
guestions about outdoor patios and/or designated smoking areas, the
Smoke-Free Arizona Program also created an Outdoor Patio Advisory
Form. This advisory form is used frequently to provide guidance about
the requirements of outdoor patios as defined by Arizona Administrative
Code R9-2-108. The advisory form also defines the 20 Foot Rule and
further clarifies how it applies to outdoor patios. County environmental
health inspectors, county health educators, and Smoke-Free Arizona
Program Specialists do not perform plan review for outdoor patios;
however, they can ensure that proprietors understand the requirements of
the outdoor patio exemption. The Outdoor Patio Advisory Form informs
proprietors that the advisory visit does not indicate compliance with any
other code, law, or regulation that may be required - federal, state, or
local, and that it does not constitute endorsement or acceptance of the
current or proposed patio.

Over the years, both the Advisory Form and the Outdoor Patio Advisory
Form have proven to be useful tools. These two forms serve as
documentation for the advisory visits and as a tracking method used to
account for educational activities conducted. For this reason, the ADHS
Smoke-Free Arizona Program has shared the forms with the county
health departments and encouraged their use.

16
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2.6 Annual Training

To attain consistent implementation of the Act statewide, an annual
training is given by ADHS to each county health department. The
annual training provides an opportunity for all existing and new
inspectors to receive uniform training to ensure all inspectors are
implementing the Smoke-Free Arizona Act consistently throughout the
State. The annual training gives inspectors a chance to receive a refresher
on the various items concerning the Act. This year the training focused
on private residences and multi-family housing complexes and how the
Act applies to those premises.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program regularly receives complaints
regarding multi-family housing units. In these types of multi-family
housing complexes, only enclosed common areas have to be smoke-free.
Since each unit is considered a private residence, tenants can smoke
inside and on their balconies, patios, or decks even if it is within 20 feet
of a neighboring unit. The Act does not address smoke entering an
apartment (condo, etc.) from outside, through a ventilation system, or
from a neighboring residence or apartment.

3.0 Outreach

3.1 Reaching Out to Public Places and Places of Employment

site visits at local businesses, bars, and restaurants and provide

education to ensure continued compliance with the Smoke-Free
Arizona Act. Between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, a total of 20,202
educational visits and consultations were conducted.

Arizona county health departments conduct consultations and on-

Between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, the ADHS Smoke-Free
Arizona Program Specialists as well as county health educators and
county environmental health specialists conducted 99 educational
presentations to large employers and community partners such as Head
Start programs, after school programs, juvenile detention centers,
women’s transitional housing facilities, multi-family housing complexes,
youth groups, and science camps. All combined, an estimated 6,420
people attended these educational presentations.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program and county health educators used
health fairs as an effective forum to provide education to the public
regarding the requirements of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Some of the
health fairs attended by program specialists and health educators
included large electronic, fabrics industrial, and medical biotechnology
companies, insurance providers, health clubs, and community centers.

17
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County Health Department Assessments

Beginning in 2012, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program began the
inaugural commencement of county health department assessments. The
Smoke-Free Arizona Program began conducting on-site assessments at
each of the delegated county health department in the State. The
assessments, which will occur every two calendar years, are intended to
provide the counties with a platform to showcase their educational and
outreach efforts, share experiences, discuss difficult inspections, seek
guidance and detail enforcement practices. As a result, the assessments
not only give the Smoke-Free Arizona Program an opportunity to
become more familiar with how the counties operate their programs, but
to also improve communication between partners and provide feedback
and resources that were geared toward creating Smoke-Free programs
that are more consistent statewide. This year’s county health department
assessments began in January and will conclude in December. The
assessments have allowed the county health departments and the Smoke-
Free Arizona Program to complete joint inspections to local business to
provide education and compliance with the Act. These joint inspections
prove to be invaluable opportunities for training, dialog and the provision
of education to proprietors, business owners and community partners.

Health Fairs

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program actively participates in forums that
can reach the community on a one-to-one basis, such as health fairs. The
Smoke-Free Arizona Program partners with the Wellness Council of
Arizona to outreach to large employers and distribute information at
wellness health fairs. This year, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program
attended an employee health fair hosted by Blue Cross Blue Shield.
Questions were answered and information about the Act was distributed
to approximately 200 attendees.
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Reaching Out to the Community: Success Stories

Apache County: Social Media

The Apache County Public Health Services District joined social media
by creating a Facebook page in March 2014. In this digital era, Apache
County knew the importance of seeking effective, concise, and
innovative ways to reach the public in the most effective way. The
Apache County page promotes important health services such as the
Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Program, the Immunization
Program, and the local Vital Records offices. Valuable information is
also provided to educate the public on campfire restrictions, wildfire and
preparedness information, substance abuse and teen pregnancy
prevention. The Apache County Facebook page included the March
2014 Smoke Free AZ Newsletter and will continue to post other
information regarding the Smoke Free AZ

Act. https://www.facebook.com/ApacheCountyPublicHealth

Maricopa County: Successful Compliance through Education,
Inspections, and Partnerships

Maricopa County has had great success working with bar owners,
managers and employees to provide a smoke-free environment for
patrons and staff. They were instrumental in supporting a smoke-free
environment at numerous apartment complexes. They are also working
with Arizona Hot Spot Task Force and The Arizona Smoke-Free Living
Coalition. In order to better serve the public, the County began doing
inspections of the worksite exterior when they were unable to inspect the
interior and noted any observed deficiencies in the database. This lead to
a re-inspection and enabled them to meet required deadlines.

Pinal County: Proactive Education

Pinal County continues to remain proactive in their efforts towards
compliance with Smoke-Free Arizona. They identified an agency that
had a fleet of about 1,000 vehicles that needed Smoke-Free Arizona
signage. Once they provided the agency with the needed signage, they
remain in contact with the agency to give support on an on-going basis.
Their proactive approach has led to a relatively low number of
complaints and their educational efforts have helped business owners to
come into, and stay, in compliance.
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Santa Cruz County: Working Towards Compliance through
Partnerships and Educational Outreach Efforts

ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program has remained successful in
reaching out to businesses located in Santa Cruz County despite some
challenges caused by the distance between the ADHS Smoke-Free
Arizona Program and the Santa Cruz County communities. A continuing
partnership with the Nogales Chamber of Commerce is an effective
channel used to stay in touch with business owners. The Chamber of
Commerce provides Smoke-Free Arizona “No Smoking” signs and
educational brochures to the community of Nogales and to business
proprietors. In April 2014, the Nogales Chamber of Commerce contacted
the Smoke-Free Arizona Program to order additional “No Smoking”
signs. The Chamber will distribute these signs to any new or existing
members in need of a required sign.

As previously mentioned, Smoke-Free Arizona staff provides
compliance assistance and education to businesses and proprietors
throughout the State. This year, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program
completed a mass mailing educational outreach project. A total of 500
businesses received a letter with information about the Act, a brochure,
and a required “No Smoking” sign. Proprietors were encouraged to
order additional “No Smoking” signage if necessary. The Smoke-Free
Arizona Program hopes to see increased compliance in Santa Cruz
County as a result of successful outreach efforts.

Yavapai County: Thorough Inspections

Over the past year, Yavapai County had received numerous complaints
from neighboring businesses about a restaurant that was allowing
smoking to occur in their office area. The County did an inspection,
which indicated that they needed follow up inspections and education in
order to create an environment of compliance. Even with follow up
inspections, the complaints continued. With repeated visits and
educational outreach, a smoke-free environment has been established and
eliminated complaints at this establishment.

Yuma County: A Welcoming Patio

In 2013-2014 Yuma County’s Smoke Free Arizona Program continued
to experience a high level of compliance throughout the County.
Outreach efforts have successfully established this program as a resource
from which business owners and proprietors can receive information and
assistance in complying with the Act.
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A recent example of this is a bar/lounge located on the north end of town
in Historic Downtown Yuma’s Main Street. During the course of a
routine compliance check it was noticed that the business’ smoking patio
had its ventilation system turned off and the door to the establishment
was propped open. It was noticed that a rear patio was also a smoking
patio, providing no smoke free entrance to the establishment. The owner,
wanting her establishment to be not only be compliant, but also
welcoming, decided to designate the back patio a smoking patio and the
front patio smoke free, posting signage designating it as a smoke free
entrance.

Currently, shoppers and others enjoying events held on Main Street can
do so without being exposed to secondhand smoke from this business.
Yuma County Smoke Free Arizona commends this proprietor who made
the extra effort to comply with the Act.
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In a continued effort to disseminate information about the Act, two new
Smoke-Free Arizona newsletters were created and distributed to citizens
and businesses of Arizona during the last year. The second issue of the
fourth volume of the newsletter was designed with the intent of
educating the public and business proprietors about Retail Tobacco
Stores. Retail Tobacco Stores are one of the seven exemptions of the
Act. In order to allow smoking inside a Retail Tobacco Store, the
establishment must meet the exemption criteria. This newsletter
discussed the exemption requirements defined in the Act. This
newsletter was distributed electronically to approximately 9,035 business
proprietors. The first issue of the fifth volume of the newsletter
explained the three simple steps for the public to report violations and
enter a complaint. A complaint can be placed using the Smoke-Free
Arizona website, via email, or by calling 1-877-429-6676. Complaints
can also be filed through the mysmokefreeAZ App for iPhone and
Android. This newsletter was sent to approximately 9,770 recipients via

email.

The two Smoke-Free Arizona newsletters were distributed electronically
to a collective approximate total of 18,805 business proprietors
throughout Arizona. The distribution of the Smoke-Free Arizona
newsletter is a successful and cost efficient educational outreach effort.
The images below are copies of the Smoke-Free Arizona newsletters.

~ 15

ot g 1,681

Volume 4, Issue 2

Volume 5, Issue 1
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3.2 Working with Smoke-Free Arizona Partners

One of the most important and constant partnerships the Smoke-Free
Arizona Program has is with the county health departments. Through
delegation agreements, county health departments play a major role in
providing education, compliance assistance, and in some instances
enforcement of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. Every other year, the
Smoke-Free Arizona Program offers a training session to provide
standard and consistent information to county health educators and
county health inspectors. As technology advances, the Smoke-Free
Arizona Program is always looking for new ways to provide continuing
education to county health educators and county health inspectors. In
previous years, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program has provided trainings
offered as a YouTube video and numerous PowerPoint presentations.

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program strives for consistent program
education, compliance, and enforcement throughout the State. The
trainings have been used recurrently by county health departments as the
primary training for new staff and as a refresher for existing staff.
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4.0 Compliance

4.1 Verifying Compliance through Complaint Response and
Routine Inspections

increase throughout the State. Compliance is monitored through

complaint response inspections at enclosed public places and
places of employment. Additionally, compliance is verified during
routine food safety inspections conducted at foodservice establishments,
such as bars and restaurants.

Compliance with the Smoke-Free Arizona Act is continuing to

During the seventh year of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act, business
proprietors have continued to go above and beyond the requirements of
the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. In addition to making the necessary
changes to comply with the Act, such as posting the required “No
Smoking” signs and moving ashtrays, proprietors continue to build
outdoor patios, provide designated smoking areas and establish in-house
smoking policies that are more strict than the Act to accommodate their
employees and customers.

4.2 Complaint Investigations

Complaints alleging violations of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act are
investigated by all but one of the State’s fifteen counties (See Map 1.2).
Once a complaint is received and it is determined that the allegations are
valid violations of the Act, an unannounced inspection will take place
and/or the business proprietor is notified within 15 days of the complaint.
When necessary, investigators go in pairs to perform inspections, for
example, during night inspections and for cases where the evidence may
be difficult to find. If a violation of the Act is observed during an
inspection, the proprietor is requested to correct the violation at the time
of the inspection. If the violation is not corrected at that time, a re-
inspection will take place to verify that a corrective action has been
made. Re-inspections have shown to be an effective approach in
achieving compliance.

A very effective approach while conducting complaint investigations is
to conduct a joint inspection. Occasionally, the county health
departments (CHD) request assistance during difficult inspections. The
inspection might involve indoor smoking. When confronted with the
evidence of violations, some proprietors can be inflexible to the request
to perform the necessary corrective actions as soon as possible. The
ADHS takes this opportunity to partner with the CHD to approach
challenging situations or proprietors and to help these businesses come
into compliance with the Act through joint inspections. From May 1,
2013 to April 30, 2014 the ADHS conducted 12 joint inspections with
CHDs that requested it.
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Complainants may follow-up on their complaints by calling the ADHS
Smoke-Free Arizona Program or their county health department.
Complaint investigation findings are entered into a database that can be
accessed by Smoke-Free Arizona Program officials only. Complaints
can be located with a complaint identification number that is issued when
a complaint is filed, the complainants’ last name (if provided), the
business name, address, or cross streets.
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4.3 Complaint Numbers Stabilize With Increased Compliance
throughout Arizona

The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program continues to encourage
members of the public to report violations of the Smoke-Free Arizona
Act. Complaints can be filed by one of the following:
e Filling out an online complaint form at
www.smokefreearizona.org:
e Calling the toll-free Smoke-Free Arizona hotline at 1-877-4-AZ-
NOSMOKE (1-877-429-6676);
¢ Sending an e-mail to nosmokingarizona@azdhs.gov; or
e Capturing and sending a complaint using the mysmokefreeaz
App available for smartphones.

During the seventh year after the Law went into effect, between May 1,
2013 and April 30, 2014, a total of 1,295 complaints alleging violations
of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act were filed statewide. The numbers of
complaints filed this year resulted in a slight decrease when compared to
last year’s total of 1,681 complaints and the previous year’s total of
1,594 complaints filed statewide. Overall the complaint trend during the
last three years has been consistent. Most of the complaints were
regarding people smoking outside within twenty feet of an entrance and
the presence of ashtrays located outside within twenty feet of an
entrance.

The graph below illustrates the number of complaints filed monthly
statewide between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014.

Graph 4.1 Total Complaints Filed Statewide from May 1, 2013 to April 30, 2014
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The counties that received the highest number of complaints are:
Maricopa (74%), Pima (11%), Yavapai (3%), Mohave (3%), and
Coconino (2%). Of the 1,293 complaints received, 1,206 complaints
(93%) reporting violations of the Act were located in these five counties.

The top five counties that received the highest percentage of complaints
between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014 are shown in the map below.

Map 4.1 Top Five Counties with the Highest Percentage of
Complaints between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014

Coconino
2%

The number of complaints received for each county between May 1,
2013 and April 30, 2014 is shown in the map below.

Map 4.2 Number of Complaints for Each County between May 1,
2013 and April 30, 2014
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With the exception of year 1, May 1, 2007 — April 30, 2008, which
showed 4,803 complaints filed, yearly complaint numbers have been
consistent since May 1, 2008, averaging 1,531 complaints per year. A
total of 1,295 complaints were filed statewide from May 1, 2013 — April
30, 2014. Efforts to educate business owners and to incorporate
compliance checks into routine food safety inspections continue to result
in maintaining a steady number of complaints and thus continuing to
achieve compliance statewide.

The graph below illustrates the comparison between the number of

complaints received monthly since May 1, 2007.

Graph 4.2 Comparison of Complaints Filed Monthly Statewide between May 1, 2007 and
April 30, 2014
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5.0 Enforcement

51 Initiating Legal Procedures

delegated authority to enforce the provisions of the Smoke-Free

Arizona Act. These include Apache, Coconino, Graham,
Greenlee, La Paz, Mohave, Navajo, Pima, and Yuma counties. The
ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program is responsible for enforcement in
the remaining six counties, including Cochise, Gila, Maricopa, Pinal,
Santa Cruz, and Yavapai (See Map 1.2).

N ine of the fifteen Arizona county health departments have the

If a proprietor of an establishment does not correct violations as
requested, demonstrates willful violations, or a pattern of noncompliance
with the Act, he or she is subject to enforcement action and may receive
a Notice of Violation (“NOV”) or an assessment of civil penalty fines
between $100 and $500 for each violation. If injunctive relief is
requested, the Superior Court may impose appropriate injunctive relief
and civil penalty fines up to $5,000 per violation.

5.2 Achieving Compliance through Legal Proceedings

Enforcement actions take place when educational efforts fail to result in
compliance with the Smoke-Free Arizona Act in a timely manner. The
ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program has had tremendous support from
the Education & Health Section attorneys from the Office of the Arizona
Attorney General and from the Office of Administrative Counsel and
Rules at ADHS. This support, combined with an effective enforcement
protocol, allows ADHS to better serve the county health departments
when cases are referred to the ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program for
enforcement.

Notices of Violation (NOV) are issued in response to a pattern of
noncompliance or willful violations of the Law. An NOV details
violations that have been observed and documented during complaint
investigations. A total of five NOVs were issued statewide between May
1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, one of which was issued by the ADHS
Smoke-Free Arizona Program. One proprietor who was issued one of
these NOVss faced a total of $2,400 in civil penalty fines. There were no
civil penalty fines issued for the four NOVs filed from county health
departments. The five total NOV's were issued to proprietors that
permitted employees, customers, or visitors to smoke inside enclosed
public places and places of employment. No new cases were brought
before the Superior Court for injunctive relief this year.

The number of NOVs issued to proprietors of public buildings and places
of employment was smaller this year than the number of NOVs issued to
retail food establishments. Two NOVs were issued to proprietors of
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places of employment and public places, such as a hair salon, and a pet
shop. Three NOVs were issued to proprietors of retail food
establishments, such as bars and restaurants.

The one NOV issued by the ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program, has
not completed the enforcement process at this time and further action is
yet to be determined. The proprietor has the right to schedule an informal
settlement agreement or to request an Administrative Hearing within the
time allotted.

In previous annual reports, ADHS indicated that settlement agreements
have been met which included a lesser fine; however, the remainder of
the original fine was deferred, as long as the business is not found in
violation of the Act at any time in the future. Should a business be found
in violation after signing a settlement agreement, the deferred amount
must be paid and additional fines may be assessed. Between May 1,
2013 and April 30, 2014, ADHS did not reach any settlement agreements
with any of the enforcement proceedings. Additionally, ADHS has
previously reported enforcement cases which have been referred to the
Attorney General’s collections department for non-payment of civil
penalties. Between May 1, 2013 and April 30, 2014, no enforcement
cases are currently referred to collections.

During the seventh year, no administrative hearings were held to
determine the outcome of the six enforcement cases statewide.
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6.0 Protecting Arizonans Health

6.1 State of Tobacco Control Report Card: Smoke-Free Arizona
Scores a Grade A

tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and

federal level and assigns grades to tobacco control laws and
regulations enacted based on recognized
criteria for effective tobacco control
measures. The grading criteria were
developed by an advisory committee
assembled by the National Cancer Institute.
This grading system provides scoring in nine
main categories: Government Workplaces,
Private Workplaces, Schools, Child Care
Facilities, Restaurants, Retail Stores, Recre-
ational/Cultural Facilities, Penalties and
Enforcement.

The American Lung Association State of Tobacco Control report

The grade for each state is based on a total of all points received in all
categories. A grade of “A” is assigned for excellent tobacco control
policies while an “F” indicates inadequate policies.

Arizona is one of 36 states, along with American Samoa, the Northern
Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of
Columbia, that have passed comprehensive smoke-free air laws that
protect the public and workers from the dangers of secondhand smoke by
requiring that non-hospitality workplaces and/or restaurants and/or bars
and/or state-run gambling establishments be 100% smoke-free (as of
April 1, 2014).

This year, once again and for the seventh consecutive year, Arizona
earned a grade A in The American Lung Association State of Tobacco
Control 2014 report, for maintaining a strong and comprehensive
enforcement program of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act. The American
Lung Association works diligently with organizations, state departments,
and legislators to address tobacco control issues. The Arizona
Department of Health Services continues to work in partnership with the
American Lung Association in Arizona to make sure that the Law is
appropriately enforced throughout the state. This year the Arizona
Smoke-Free Living coalition, a program of the American Lung
Association in Arizona, joined forces with the American Heart
Association and the American Cancer Society and assisted five
apartment complexes in becoming smoke-free. With the increasing
demand for smoke-free housing, the coalition is sure to gain momentum
and continue to assist other complexes to become smoke-free.
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6.2 Empower Pack

As in years past, the Smoke-Free Arizona Program has partnered with
the ADHS Bureau of Nutrition and Physical Activity to provide
educational materials for the Empower Pack Program. The Empower
Pack Program is a nutrition and tobacco-free program that childcare
centers may choose to participate in to receive discounted state licensing
fees, with the agreement that centers will adopt more healthy habits by
implementing program standards. Empower Centers teach children how
to live healthy lives by using the following ten curriculum requirements:

1. Facilities should encourage physical activities as part of their

curriculum by scheduling at least 60 minutes of planned activity

(which can be broken up in shorter time periods) per day. Encourage

“sun safe” physical activities.

Limit kids’ screen time to under one hour a day.

/ \ 3. Avoid more than 60 minutes of sedentary activity at a time, except
while the child is sleeping.

Empower Pack kits 4. Offer water at least 4 times during the day.

included 200 Smoke- Serve 1% low fat or fat free milk for all children over two years of

Free Arizona “No age. L -
Smoking” signs and 6. Serve only 100% percent fruit juice (with no added sugars), and limit

educational brochures to Kids to 4 ounces per day. _ _
be sent to childcare 7. Serve meals family style and let the child decide how much to eat.
centers in Arizona @vgid rewarding good behavior or a clean plate with foods of any
ind.
K / 8. If able, participate in the USDA Child and Adult Care Food
Program.
9. Facilities and homes should be totally (24-hour) smoke-free
campuses.
10. All families should receive education and referrals regarding tobacco
prevention cessation and second hand smoke at least four times per
year.

N

o

The Smoke-Free Arizona Program provided one “No Smoking” 4 x 6
sticker sign per Empower Pack kit. Also included was The Smoke-Free
Arizona Act Clearing the Air for Employers brochure. This year, 200
signs and brochures were provided to be included in the Empower Pack
kits. A link to the Smoke-Free Arizona website,
www.smokefreearizona.org, can also be found on the Empower Pack
website as a resource for Empower Centers to utilize.
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6.3 Surgeon General’s Report: The Health Consequences of
Smoking — 50 Years of Progress

In 1964, the first Surgeon’s General Report was released with
conclusions considering a relationship between smoking and
cardiovascular disease and low birth weight babies resulting from
maternal smoking. At that time, the effects of secondhand smoke were
not known, but most nonsmokers considered smoking to be aggravating
in public places.

During the 1970’s, there was an increase in public awareness and
concern over environmental pollutants. In 1973, Arizona spearheaded
the smoke-free policy movement when it became the first state to
prohibit smoking in some public places. In 1979, the Surgeon General’s
report was released, in parts, surprising readers with strong rhetoric that
exhorted the public to ask why the government should discourage
cigarette smoking. The overwhelming answer was that government
involvement was necessary because the consequences of smoking were
not personal and private. Government intervention was necessary not
only because of spiraling federal government financial burden, but also
to protect vulnerable and high-risk populations. This report provided
decades of data accumulated through epidemiology, disease, behavioral
and psychosocial studies on tobacco use. The report touched on data
collected on contamination of indoor environments by tobacco smoke
and the health consequences of secondhand smoke.

By the mid-1980’s almost all states had passed some restrictions or local
ordinance regarding public smoking. Once this movement gained
momentum, scientific studies were underway to corroborate the need for
further policy implementation. Multiple studies have revealed sufficient
evidence to connect the implementation of a smoke-free policy or law to
reduction in coronary and respiratory events. Findings suggest that
chronic exposure to secondhand smoke increases the risk of COPD and
causes respiratory inflammation.

In 1986, the U.S. Surgeon General’s report and the National Academy of
Science’s report concluded that secondhand smoke could be directly
linked to lung cancer in adult nonsmokers and respiratory effects in
children. The U.S. General’s report had 3 powerful and astounding
results. The report concluded that 1) exposure to secondhand smoke
causes disease, 2) children’s respiratory health was being affected by
smoking parents and 3) the creation of smoking and non-smoking areas
was not sufficient to protect non-smokers from secondhand smoke.

According to the 2014 Surgeon General’s Report, 8 million deaths have
been prevented since the first report was published in 1964. This report
highlights the importance of media campaigns, taxes, access to cessation,
tobacco control programs, product regulation, and smoke-free laws to
end the tobacco use epidemic.
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7.0 Conclusion

number of inquiries from Arizona citizens and a continued

stabilization although with a slight decrease in the number of

complaints filed by concerned citizens. Partnerships with county
health educators and county environmental health inspectors provided
education and timely complaint assistance to citizens and business
owners throughout their communities.

The seventh year of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act saw a continuous

Providing awareness of the Act results in higher levels of compliance.
This was achieved in multiple ways including but not limited to
educational outreach, compliance assistance during complaint
inspections, advisory visits, health fairs, conferences and the media. For
the sixth consecutive year the American Lung Association State of
Tobacco Control report card awarded an “A” to the Smoke-Free Arizona
Program recognizing the success the program has achieved by using the
previously mentioned methods.

The ADHS Smoke-Free Arizona Program continues to encourage
members of the public to report violations of the Act by filling out a
complaint form online, by calling the toll-free complaint line, by sending
an email, or filing a complaint through a smartphone application. A total
number of 1,295 complaints were filed between May 1, 2013 and April
30, 2014. Most of the complaints, as in years past, were regarding
people smoking outside, but within 20 feet of an entrance, and the
presence of an ashtray outside within 20 feet of an entrance. Compared
to the total number of complaints, only a minimal number of complaints
resulted in legal proceedings. Enforcement took place only when
educational efforts did not result in timely compliance.

We are pleased to report that the seventh year of implementation of the

Smoke-Free Arizona Act has continued to provide cleaner air for the
citizens of Arizona demonstrating “It’s a Benefit, Not a Ban.”
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For questions regarding this report please contact:

Eric Thomas
Program Manager, Smoke-Free Arizona
Arizona Department of Health Services
Office of Environmental Health
150 North 18t Avenue, Suite 130
Phoenix, AZ 85007
602-364-0929
eric.thomas@azdhs.gov
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