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Frequently Asked Questions 
School and Child Care Immunization Requirements 

 
Please see our Arizona Immunization Handbook for Schools and Child Care Programs 

 for more detailed information. 
 
Immunization Schedule and Documentation 
 
1. Question: What is the difference between the recommended immunization schedule and the 

Arizona School required immunization schedule?   
 
Answer:  The recommended immunization schedule is the optimum schedule approved by the 
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), the 
American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), and the American College of Obstetricians and 
Gynecologists (ACOG).  This recommended schedule is considered the standard of practice when 
immunizing children against vaccine preventable disease. 
 
The Arizona School required immunization schedule is the legislatively mandated immunization 
schedule required for attendance in Arizona schools and child care centers. 
 
2. Question:  Sometimes there is confusion as to which schedule to follow, the ACIP Recommended 

Schedule or the Arizona School Requirements schedule.  Which immunization schedule should 
Arizona Schools follow? 

 
Answer: Follow the Arizona School Immunization Requirements set forth by the Arizona Department of 
Health Services Immunization Program Office.  These requirements are legislatively mandated.  The 
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) does not provide guidance to individual states 
regarding what immunizations are to be mandated for schools.  It should be said, if all physicians 
followed the ACIP schedule, students attending schools would be in compliance with all school required 
vaccines.  
 
The statutes and rules governing school immunization requirements are Arizona Revised Statutes 15-
871-874 and Arizona Administrative Code, R9-6-701-708. 

 
3. Question:  What is the grace period (or extension time) for students to have their immunization 

records submitted to the school? 
 
Answer: There is no grace period/extension time established by the state statutes or codes.  The rules 
state that a pupil shall not be allowed to attend school without submitting documentary proof of all 
required immunizations, meet conditional admissions requirements, or submission of a signed and valid 
exemption.  
 
4. Question:  Which immunizations are required for school and/or child care attendance? 
 
Answer: The Arizona school, child care, preschool and Head Start immunization requirements are 
posted at http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/. 
 

http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/
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5. Question: If a child’s immunizations were not given on schedule, how do I know if the doses are valid 

and when are the next doses required? 
 
Answer:  The minimum ages and intervals for valid vaccine doses are posted at 
http://www.immunize.org/catg.d/p2010.pdf. 

 
 

6. Question:  When administering vaccines, or checking administration dates, what is the grace period 
for vaccines that are given earlier than the required age or interval?  

 
Answer: ACIP allows for most vaccine doses administered within 4 days of the recommended minimum 
age or interval to be counted as valid.  However, ACIP does not allow a 4-day grace period between doses 
of varicella and MMR vaccines.  These live vaccines must be administered on the same day, or at least 28 
days apart. 
 
The Arizona Immunization Program Office (AIPO) accepts vaccine doses given within the ACIP-approved 
grace period as valid for child care and school entry.  The 4-day grace period includes the first MMR, 
which may be counted if it was administered no sooner than 4 days before the child’s first birthday. 

 
 

7. Question:  There are times when an immunization record does not include the complete date of 
vaccine administration.  If a full date is not available, what is the “default date” for recording a 
vaccine in the record? 

 
Answer: Guidance provided from the Arizona Immunization Handbook for Schools and Child Care 
Programs at  http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm, in accordance 
with the Arizona Revised Statutes 15-871 and the Arizona Administrative Code R9-6-701 through 708, 
states: “To meet Arizona requirements for immunization records, the dates of all vaccine doses must 
contain the month, day and year the vaccine was administered.  Immunization records that contain the 
month and year are only acceptable for non-MMR doses that were administered prior to January 1, 
2003.”  
 
The MMR dose in particular, must have a month, day, and year to be considered a valid and acceptable 
dose.  This is because we must be sure that the minimum 28 day interval has been met. This may also 
apply to a varicella dose, particularly when the first one is administered to children 13 years of age and 
older, as the minimum interval for dose #2 is also 28 days. 

 
If the day the vaccine was administered is not noted, reasonable attempts should be made to obtain the 
exact day. If this information is not available/located, the dose SHOULD NOT BE COUNTED. The student 
should either have a lab titer drawn to see if they have antibodies or they should have the dose repeated. 
If the child has two valid doses, then these two doses should be the accepted and recorded doses. 
 
 
8. Question: If any other dose of vaccine (other than MMR or Varicella) does not have the day 

documented, what is the default date?  
 

Answer:  As it is now required that providers enter the full date on records, it will be less and less likely 
that schools will come across this situation.  However, there may be times when you do see an older 
record and the state statutes and code say that “Immunization records that contain the month and year 
are only acceptable for non-MMR doses that were administered prior to January 1, 2003.”  If the day the 
vaccine was administered is not noted, reasonable attempts should be made to obtain the exact day. If 
this information is not available/located, the dose should not be accepted as valid. 

http://www.immunize.org/catg.d/p2010.pdf
http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm
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Varicella Vaccination and Chickenpox Disease 

 
9. Question:  Are two doses of varicella (Chickenpox) vaccine required for school attendance? 
 
Answer:  One dose of varicella vaccine meets Arizona school requirements for all students except those 
who receive their first dose of varicella vaccine at 13+ years of age.  Only students who receive varicella 
#1 at 13+ years of age are required to have 2 doses.  

 
10. Question:  What if a parent reports their child has a history of the chickenpox disease?  
 
Answer: Students enrolling in an Arizona preschool or school for the first time on or after 9/1/2011 
are now required to present proof of varicella immunization or a valid exemption for medical reasons, 
laboratory evidence of immunity, or personal beliefs. Parental recall/verbal history of chickenpox 
disease cannot be accepted.   If the parent says the child has had chickenpox, you are to give them a 
medical exemption form and refer them to their healthcare provider.  
 
Students who were attending or were enrolled in an Arizona school or preschool prior to 9/1/2011 
with parental recall of chickenpox disease are allowed to continue attendance with recall and need no 
further documentation of immunity.  
  
11. Question: Is documentation of chickenpox disease required to come from a healthcare provider?  

 
Answer: Yes.  A licensed physician or Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) diagnosis of disease is required 
and should be annotated on the Medical Exemption Form and signed by the child’s physician or nurse 
practitioner, as well as the parent/guardian. If the child’s medical history contains sufficient 
documentation of history of disease, the healthcare provider may feel comfortable in signing the Medical 
Exemption Form.  Laboratory evidence/confirmation showing immunity to the disease is also acceptable, 
and results should be attached to the signed Medical Exemption Form, which then becomes part of the 
immunization record.  
 
Please understand that if a healthcare provider feels there is not enough medical information to support 
a history of chickenpox, they may choose not to sign the Medical Exemption Form.  The provider may 
suggest a blood test or titer be drawn which could then prove immunity.  If the provider does not sign a 
Medical Exemption Form, and the parent declines to have a titer drawn or to have their child vaccinated, 
then the final option would be for the parent to sign a Personal Exemption Form for varicella. 
 
Tdap/Td/DTaP 

 
12. Question:  What grades are required to have Tdap (tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis) vaccine for school 

entry? 
 
Answer:  All 6th-12th graders who are 11 years or older are required to have proof of one Tdap unless 
they have received a dose of DTaP, DTP or Td in the last 5 years.   

 Tdap is not required for 11-year-olds in 5th grade.  
 Students 7 years and older who are in the process of receiving their minimum three-dose 

series of tetanus/diphtheria vaccine are required to receive 1 Tdap as part of the series.  
 Tdap is licensed down to age 7 years, and some children do receive a dose of Tdap prior to 

age 11 (students who have not completed the full DTaP series before 6 years of age, or 
received Tdap for wound management).  If a student received a Tdap dose between the ages 
of 7-10, the dose can be counted as valid and the student does not need to receive another 
dose at age 11 or older. Tdap is currently licensed for a one time dose only.  
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13. Question: What if a student, 7 years of age or older, does not have a complete series of DTaP  

         vaccine? What is the school requirement?  
 
       Answer: In this case what is required is to ensure that a minimum of 3 appropriately spaced tetanus and 
       diphtheria containing vaccines (DTaP, Td, Tdap) are noted in the immunization record. The 
       appropriate intervals include 4 weeks between dose 1 & 2  and 6 months between dose 2 & 3.  
 
       ACIP recommends that a person aged 7 years and older who is not fully immunized with DTaP 
       vaccine should receive Tdap as one of the doses (preferably the first) in the catch-up series. The use of 
       DTaP in children over age 7 is not licensed, so when students are referred for an additional dose at an 
       older age, the provider should give them a Tdap or Td vaccine.  The receipt of a Tdap at age 7-10 is not a 
       school immunization requirement; however, if you have a record of a child 7 – 10 years old with Tdap,  
       the 6th grade entry requirement for Tdap is met and does not need to be repeated.  

 
        

14. Question: If a student receives an inadvertent dose of DTaP after age 7, what is the required 
schedule?  

 
Answer: There are times when DTaP may have been mistakenly administered to a child 7 years or older 
(remember that DTaP is only licensed for children through 6 years of age), but the dose is considered 
valid according to ACIP. The school requirements do not address this situation and the rules state a 
student is required to receive a Tdap when 5 years have passed since the student’s last 
tetanus/diphtheria immunization was administered.  
 
Issue: Although CDC informs clinicians to follow state school immunization laws over the ACIP 
Recommended Schedule, some clinicians choose NOT to administer Tdap after an inadvertent dose of 
DTaP.  It is important to know that additional guidance from CDC states when a DTaP dose is given to a 
person older than 6 years of age, it can be counted as valid for the one-time Tdap dose.   
 
15. Question: Sometimes I get a record which states the child received a Td, but is the right age for a 

               Tdap.  What do I do? 
 
Answer: If possible, contact the provider office to verify which vaccine was given.  Very often, a Tdap is 
actually given, but the staff writes Td or puts it in a space that only has Td identified on the form. Ask the 
provider to send you an updated copy of the immunization record with the corrected information. You 
may also be able to identify what was actually given through the ASIIS record, or contact your county 
health department Immunization Program or the Arizona Department of Health Services Immunization 
Program Office and ask to speak to the nurse who can help you decipher which vaccine was actually 
administered. 
 
 
16. Question:  If the student did indeed receive a Td instead of a Tdap, should I have them get the Tdap? 
 
Answer:  Technically, since the child has now received a Td, they are in compliance with the school 
requirement of having had a dose of tetanus/diphtheria within the past 5 years.  However, since Td does 
not contain the pertussis vaccine, it provides no protection against the disease.  A School Nurse (RN) can 
strongly recommend the child return to the provider and receive the Tdap vaccine, which can be given at 
any time as there is no minimal interval requirement.  
 
Polio 
  
17. Question: What is the polio recommendation for Arizona students?  
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Answer: Four doses of polio vaccine meet the requirement for school entry in Arizona, regardless of 
when the fourth dose was given.  Three doses meet the requirement if the 3rd dose was received after the 
4th birthday. 
 
 
 MMR 
  
18. Question: What is the MMR requirement for students?  
 
Answer: All Arizona students are required to have 2 doses of MMR (measles, mumps and rubella);  
however, there are students from other countries who may receive single antigen measles, mumps  
and rubella or a combination of 1 MMR and then a single dose of one of the three single antigens.  These 
students may require an additional dose(s) of MMR to meet Arizona School Requirements. 
  
General Immunization Questions 
 
19. Question:  Are students 18+ years of age and still in high school required to have immunizations? 
 
Answer:  All immunizations are required for students attending K-12th grade except for the polio 
immunization, which is not required for students 18+ years of age. University and college immunization 
requirements are determined by the individual school. 
 
 
20. Question:  What if a student is 10 years of age when school starts (and entering grades 6-12), but 

         turns 11 years of age during the school year? 
 
Answer:  The student may attend school and when they reach age 11, he or she should be referred for 
the meningococcal vaccine.  The student should also be referred for Tdap if 5 or more years have passed 
since the last dose of a tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis vaccine. 
 
 
21. Question: Is the meningococcal vaccine (MV/MCV) required for school? 
 
Answer:  All 6th-12th graders who are 11 years or older must have proof of one dose of meningococcal 
vaccine.  

 Meningococcal vaccine is not required for 11-year-olds in 5th grade.  
 A booster dose of MCV is recommended, but not required at 16 years of age. 

 
 

22. Question: Sometimes an immunization record will show that the student received a meningococcal 
         vaccine (such as MenC, Men A/C, or MenB).  Does this count for school requirements? 
 

Answer:  At this time, Arizona school requirements state that one dose of meningococcal vaccine is 
needed to meet criteria.  In the U.S. only the quadrivalent MCV4 vaccine is administered, but in some 
other countries (Canada, Great Britain, Australia, etc.) children do receive single-antigen meningococcal 
vaccines when young.   
 
Based on the wording on our school requirements, these doses will count for Arizona school entry.  
However, you may give a strong recommendation to the parents to get the MCV4 vaccine for their 
children for optimal protection against meningitis. The MCV4 quadrivalent vaccine provides protection 
from the A, C, W and Y serotypes (strains) of the meningococcal disease. 
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23. Question: Is documentation of any history of disease or immunity required to come from a 
healthcare provider?  
 

Answer: Yes.  A licensed physician or Advanced Practice Nurse (APN) diagnosis of disease is required 
and should be annotated on the Medical Exemption Form and signed by the child’s physician or nurse 
practitioner, as well as the parent/guardian. If the child’s medical history contains sufficient 
documentation of history of disease, the healthcare provider may feel comfortable in signing the Medical 
Exemption Form.  Arizona law/code states that confirmation of immunity to varicella, measles and 
rubella, specifically, MUST be proven through laboratory evidence and results should be attached to the 
signed Medical Exemption Form, which then becomes part of the immunization record.  
 
Please understand that if a healthcare provider feels there is not enough medical information to support 
confirmed immunity for reported disease history, they may choose not to sign the Medical Exemption 
Form.  The provider may suggest a blood test or titer be drawn which could then prove immunity or 
simply recommend vaccination.  If the provider does not sign a Medical Exemption Form, and/or the 
parent declines to have a titer drawn or to have their child vaccinated, then the final option would be for 
the parent to sign a Personal Exemption Form for the specific vaccine(s). 
 
24. Question:  Where can I find exemption forms? 
 
Answer:  The SCHOOL personal exemption form for students in K-12 grades is posted at  
http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm. 
 
The CHILD CARE religious exemption form for students in pre-school, child care and head start programs 
is posted at http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm. 
 
NOTE:  We are currently in the process of implementing a new on-line Vaccination Education Course, which 
will require parents who wish to exempt their child(ren) from school required vaccines to take the course to 
obtain an exemption form.  As we move towards this goal, you will see further information on the course and 
guidance on how it will impact parents, schools, and school healthcare personnel. 
 
25. Question: Where can I get more of the Arizona School Immunization Record (ASIR 109R) cards? 
 
Answer: Complete the forms request form at 
http://azdhs.gov/documents/preparedness/epidemiology-disease-control/immunization/forms-
request.pdf. Fax the completed form to (602)364-3285.   
 
We also have a fillable 109R form that can be used in schools which can be found at 
http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm.  
 
 
26. Question: Where can I get a copy of the Emergency Information and Immunization Record Card for 

         preschool and child care use? 
 
Answer: It is available through the ADHS Bureau of Child Care Licensing at 
http://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/childcare-
facilities/providers/forms/emergency_info_immunization_card.pdf as well as on the ADHS 
Immunization Program website at http://azdhs.gov/preparedness/epidemiology-disease-
control/immunization/index.php#schools-immunization-forms.  
 
 
27. Question: When is the Immunization Data Report (IDR) due?  
 

http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm
http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm
http://azdhs.gov/documents/preparedness/epidemiology-disease-control/immunization/forms-request.pdf
http://azdhs.gov/documents/preparedness/epidemiology-disease-control/immunization/forms-request.pdf
http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/requirements.htm
http://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/childcare-facilities/providers/forms/emergency_info_immunization_card.pdf
http://azdhs.gov/documents/licensing/childcare-facilities/providers/forms/emergency_info_immunization_card.pdf
http://azdhs.gov/preparedness/epidemiology-disease-control/immunization/index.php#schools-immunization-forms
http://azdhs.gov/preparedness/epidemiology-disease-control/immunization/index.php#schools-immunization-forms
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Answer:  Immunization Data Reports are due from schools and child care centers by November 15 each 
year using the on-line application found on the Immunization Program Office website, 
http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/data-reports.htm. Schools submit reports on 
kindergarten and sixth grade students and child care facilities will use the web application process to 
submit their child care data.  
  
28. Question:  I have questions about an individual child’s immunization record. How can I get the 

         child’s record reviewed? 
 
Answer:  You may contact your local county health department Immunization Program or call the ADHS 
Immunization Program Office at 602-364-3630 and ask for a nurse or assessment specialist.  
 
 
Maintaining Relationships:  
The Arizona Immunization Program Office is aware of the problems that can occur when physicians do 
not immunize according to the Arizona School Immunization Requirements.  The goal is to protect 
students from disease and to preserve the relationships between physicians, parents and schools. 
There may be very good reasons for a physician to follow the ACIP Recommended Schedule and Arizona 
rules and statutes allow parents/guardians to sign an exemption form in order to be in compliance with 
school requirements.  
 
It is our hope that there can be a harmonizing of the ACIP and Arizona School Immunization 
Requirements in the future so that obstacles and conflicts are avoided.  The process of presenting before 
the Arizona Legislature is rigorous and any changes to the existing school immunization requirements 
will take time.  
 
If you have questions or concerns, please contact the Arizona Immunization Program Office at 602-364-
3630.  AIPO is willing to assist you in addressing those inherent issues that can arise in response to the 
two immunization schedules.  
 

http://azdhs.gov/phs/immunization/school-childcare/data-reports.htm

