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In November 2010, voters passed the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act.  The Act 

allows for qualifying patients to apply for registry identification cards to obtain medical 

marijuana for certain debilitating medical conditions.  Qualifying patients may also 

choose to designate a caregiver to assist them with the use of medical marijuana.    
 

Qualifying patients may obtain medical marijuana from their caregiver, other 

qualifying patients, or a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary.  With permission 

from ADHS, qualifying patients or their caregivers may cultivate marijuana if the 

patient lives more than 25 miles from a dispensary.   
 

In order to operate, a dispensary must have a Dispensary Registration Certificate 
and Approval to Operate from ADHS.  A total of 98 Dispensary Registration 
Certificates have been allocated and are in the process of being issued throughout 
Arizona.   
 

Dispensaries have roughly 1 year from August 7, 2012 to obtain Approval to Operate 
from ADHS.    

Did You Know: 

Smoking medical marijuana 
is prohibited on any form of 
public transportation or in 
any public place 

Cultivation of medical      
marijuana must be done in 
an enclosed, locked facility  

All licensed dispensaries 
will be regulated and    
inspected by ADHS 

ADHS was required to      
establish a secure,      
password-protected, web-
based verification system 
for use on a 24-hour basis 
by law enforcement      
employees and dispensary 
agents to verify registry ID 
cards 

All employees and        
volunteers of a dispensary 
must have a dispensary 
agent registry ID card  

 

Contact Us: 

Medical Marijuana 
Registry ID Card Program 

 
Email:  
M2ProgramsSupport@azdhs.gov 

 

Medical Marijuana 
Dispensary Program 
 
Helpline: 602-364-0857 
 
Email:  
M2Dispensaries@azdhs.gov 

 

General Information: 

ADHS - Medical Marijuana  
Program 
 
Address:  
150 N. 18th Ave. 
Phoenix, AZ, 85007 
 
Website:  
azdhs.gov/MedicalMarijuana/ 

 
 

 
 

Health and Wellness for all 
Arizonans 

AZ Medical Marijuana Act  (A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 28.1) 

Who is eligible for a medical marijuana registry ID card?  

Qualifying Patients:   
Must have one of the following qualifying conditions: 

Cancer, glaucoma, HIV, AIDS, Hepatitis C, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Crohn’s 
Disease, Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease or 
A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition (or treatment for) that causes: 

Cachexia or wasting syndrome 
Severe and chronic pain  
Severe nausea 
Seizures 
Severe or persistent muscle spasms 

Must receive a written certification from an AZ licensed physician (MD, DO, NMD/ND, 
MD(H)/DO(H)) 
May obtain up to 2.5 ounces in a 14-day period 
May possess up to 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana or 12 plants 

Designated Caregivers: 
Must be at least 21 years of age 
Must not have been convicted of an excluded felony offense 
May provide care for up to 5 patients 
Must have a separate registry ID card for each patient 
May grow up to 12 plants for each patient if the patient lives 
more than 25 miles from a licensed dispensary 

Qualifying patients may obtain medical marijuana from their designated caregiver, 
another qualifying patient, a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, or may receive  
authorization to cultivate if their residence address is located more than 25 miles 
from a dispensary. 

Where can a qualifying patient obtain medical marijuana? 

Arizona Department of Health ServicesArizona Department of Health ServicesArizona Department of Health Services   
Medical Marijuana ProgramMedical Marijuana ProgramMedical Marijuana Program   
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