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DETERMINING WHETHER AN INDIVIDUAL PROVIDING CHILD CARE SERVICES IN A 

RESIDENTIAL SETTING IS REQUIRED TO BE CERTIFIED AS A CHILD CARE GROUP HOME 
 

This substantive policy statement is advisory only.  A substantive policy statement does not include 
internal procedural documents that only affect the internal procedures of the agency and does not impose 

additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules 
made in accordance with the Arizona Administrative Procedure Act.  If you believe that this substantive 

policy statement does impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may petition 
the agency under Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1033 for a review of the statement. 

 
 

 
The purpose of this substantive policy statement is to notify the public how the Department determines 
whether an individual providing child care services in a residential setting is required to be certified as a 
child care group home under A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 7.1, Article 4 and the rules for child care group 
homes. 
 
A.R.S. § 36-897(1) states: 

“Child care group home” means a residential facility in which child care is regularly provided for 
compensation for periods of less than twenty-four hours per day for not less than five children but 
no more than ten children through the age of twelve years. 
 

Initially, the Department determines whether child care services are being provided in a residential setting 
that is subject to certification.  Under A.R.S. § 36-897.04(A)(1), child care services provided to children 
in the homes of the children’s own parents are exempt from certification.  Thus, an individual providing 
child care services in a residential setting is only required to be certified if the child care services are 
provided in a home other than the home of the children receiving the child care services. 

 
Once the Department determines that child care services are being provided to children in a residential 
setting other than the homes of the children’s parents, the Department determines whether the child care 
services are being provided: 
1. Regularly, 
2. For compensation, 
3. For periods of less than 24 hours per day, and 
4. For at least five and no more than 10 children through the age of 12 years who are not the 

children of the provider. 
 
Regularly 
“Regularly” means on a “regular basis,” which is defined in A.A.C. R9-3-101(61) to mean “at recurring, 
fixed, or uniform intervals.”  An individual who occasionally cares for children upon the request of the 
children’s parents is not caring for children “regularly” and is not required to be certified.  An individual 
who cares for children every day or every week, according to a schedule established with the children’s 
parents, is caring for children “regularly.” 
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For Compensation 
“Compensation” is defined in A.A.C. R9-3-101(21) to mean “money or other consideration, including 
goods, services, vouchers, time, government or public expenditures, government or public funding, or 
another benefit that is received as payment.”  An individual who receives no money or other tangible 
benefit in return for providing child care services is not providing child care “for compensation” and is 
not required to be certified.  An individual who receives money or another benefit of any kind (goods, 
services, etc.) in return for providing child care services is providing child care services “for 
compensation.” 
 
Whether child care services are being provided to a particular child “for compensation” is determined 
when the child is accepted for care by the provider.  A provider cannot change a child from “for 
compensation” to “not for compensation” in order to avoid the requirement to be certified.  If 
compensation is being received on a given day for a specific child, that compensation counts for the entire 
day—it cannot be broken up to avoid having to be certified.  A child for whom compensation is received 
on a given day counts toward the total number of children in care “for compensation” at any time that the 
child is present that day.  This does not preclude having four children “for compensation” and then 
accepting another child “for compensation” on the same day after one of the original four leaves.  It also 
does not preclude having four children “for compensation” in the morning and then accepting a different 
group of four children “for compensation” in the afternoon, after the original four leave.   
 
For Periods of Less than 24 Hours Per Day 
An individual who cares for another’s children for twenty-four hours per day, such as in a foster care 
setting, is not required to be certified as a child care group home.  An individual who cares for another’s 
children for less than 24 hours per day, and who returns the children to the children’s parents at the end of 
each care period, is providing child care services “for periods of less than 24 hours per day.”  If an 
individual who generally provides child care services for periods of less than 24 hours per day 
occasionally provides child care services to a child for a period of 24 hours per day, that alone does not 
relieve the individual from having to be certified. 
 
For at Least Five and No More than 10 Children through the Age of 12 Years 
An individual who always provides child care services for fewer than five children at a time is not 
providing care “for at least five, and no more than 10, children.”  Thus, an individual who provides child 
care services to four children of others every day of the week is not required to be certified.  (An 
individual who provides child care services to more than 10 children of others is not eligible to be 
certified under A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 7.1, Article 4, but would be required to be licensed as a child care 
facility under A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 7.1, Article 1.) 
 
In determining whether certification is necessary, a child is counted if the child is: 
1. Not a child of the provider; 
2. Not a resident at the child care group home; 
3. Not older than 12 years of age; 
4. Placed by a parent, including a staff member other than the provider, and accepted by the 

provider to receive child care services; and 
5. Receiving child care services “for compensation.” 
 
As noted in the “For Compensation” section of this Statement, if compensation is received for a child at 
any time during a single day, it counts for the whole day, and the child will be considered “for 
compensation” at all times when the child is present on that day.  As a result, the child will be counted 
toward both the minimum of four and the maximum of 10 at any time when the child is present that day. 
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Conclusion 
If the Department determines that child care services are regularly being provided to children in a 
residential setting other than the homes of the children’s parents, for compensation, for periods of less 
than 24 hours per day, and for at least five and no more than 10 children through the age of 12 years, the 
Department considers the residential facility to be subject to certification as a child care group home and 
takes action under A.R.S. § 36-897.09. 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 
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